Photo

M42 imaged through an Orion 80ED Scope

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Yoda

Yoda

Lift Off

Posted 25 March 2013 - 12:03 AM

Here is an image stacked from my first captures of Orion from this winter. I am pretty new to Astro Imaging. I've only been out about 30 times in the past two years and over half of those trips sucked because the weather changed for the worse. Anyways, I thought I was pretty good but after looking at some of the submissions here :bow: ,I am feeling like I got lots to learn.

This image was stacked with about 5 light frames only. None of the other frames were used since I don't quite have the full grasp of stacking process. It was then process in LR3.

Image scope was an Orion 80ED, Pentax K5 DSLR, Orion SSAG with 80mm guidescope, and Sirius EQ mount.

Hope to get some feedback.

Attached Files

#2 Raginar

Raginar

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 25 March 2013 - 10:47 AM

Looks like you had some good data. I took a similar picture with my ED80 too! Look up how to do background neutralization/color calibration with whatever software you're using. I think you might have clipped the black point which is why it looks 'too' black. Just remember your skies aren't black! :D

Thanks for sharing with us.

#3 NeilMac

NeilMac

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 25 March 2013 - 11:58 AM

Nice color and details !!

#4 Hilmi

Hilmi

Soyuz

• Loc: Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:03 PM

Phsycadelic colors, makes my want to pull out my Jimi Hendrix CDs

#5 Wouter D'hoye

Wouter D'hoye

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Belgium

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:08 PM

Great iamge. Though I believe you clipped the background. Never do that. Keep it a very dark grey but don't make it entirely black. Sometimes you'd be amazed how "not empty" space really is.

Kind regards,

Wouter.

#6 Yoda

Yoda

Lift Off

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:18 PM