Jump to content


Photo

My VX mount hand controler is dead

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 will1384

will1384

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2013

Posted 30 March 2013 - 11:06 PM

I have had a lot of rain lately, and not much time to use the VX mount, this was only the third time I had used the mount, the first time, I used my VX mount was with my DSLR, and took a few few 60 second exposures, and everything went great, the second time, I tried using a 80ED telescope on the VX mount, but about halfway threw the alignment the mount suddenly decided everything was reverse or something, as it tried to point the eyepiece toward the alignment stars, or moved in such a way that the 80ED's diagonal would hit the tripod when moving to an alignment star, I spent over an hour trying to get sorted out, I never did, and the third time, tonight, it was doing the same pointing the eyepiece toward the alignment stars thing again, but this time I decided to try changing the "Tracking Mode" it was on "EQ North" so I changed it to "EQ South" and the mount acted no different, then I tried changing the "OTA Orientation" to "East" the VX mount still pointed the eyepiece toward the alignment star but on the opposite side of the mount, then the controller just went dark, and never came back on, but the red light was still lit on the mount, now what do I do ?

I guess Monday I have to call Celestron, any tips, any ideas ?

#2 powerstroke01

powerstroke01

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 531
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2007
  • Loc: Western Sierra Nevada Foothills

Posted 31 March 2013 - 01:51 AM

You're not the first. Celestron should send you a new one.

#3 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 31 March 2013 - 03:32 AM

Try plunging the HC into the AUX port.

Stan

#4 cn register 5

cn register 5

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012

Posted 31 March 2013 - 04:24 AM

With regards to the mount pointing the EP towards the alignment stars, do you have the OTA fitted to the mount the right way round?

With the mount set to the alignment marks the OTA should be pointing to the pole. Also the casting where the dovetail is has sort of arrows that point in the direction the OTA should be pointing.

Roughly where are you? I wouldn't try EQ S unless I was in the southern hemisphere. I can't imagine any reason why it would help otherwise.

You mention OTA orientation - do you have the OTA on a side by side mount so this is needed?

Finally, this is an off the wall suggestion, but you are sure that you didn't plug the HC into the autoguide port? It will fit, unfortunately, but definitely won't work, maybe never again.

Hope these thoughts help, and apologies if they seem silly questions, we aren't looking over your shoulder so can't see what's obvious to you.

Chris

#5 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2538
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 31 March 2013 - 07:55 AM

Sounds like the bug in the software crossed into the new hand controllers. A factory reset will do fix it. If it is the bug it only occurs during the alignment process and a reset will always fix it. Celestron is working to find the source of the bug in the code.

#6 beammeup

beammeup

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Straight of Gibraltar

Posted 31 March 2013 - 08:46 AM

How do you do a factory reset if the HC is not working ??

#7 SeptemberEquinox

SeptemberEquinox

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 315
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2012

Posted 31 March 2013 - 10:28 AM

Please check if the power light is on on the mount. If the power light on the mount went out, you need to make sure the power plug on the mount is plugged in all the way into the mount. Make sure it's all the way inside of the mount before screwing it in.

it will fix the problem 100%!!!

#8 will1384

will1384

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 01:13 PM

I mounted the telescope with the open end facing north, the VX mount's counterweight also was pointing north, and the peg on the top of the tripod was also orientated north, just like the picture on the manual.

The power light never went out on the mount.

I tried plugging the hand controller into both AUX ports, it did not work.

I also tried PC control threw the hand controller, the software was never able to connect, however PC control did work before the hand controller died.

#9 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2538
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 31 March 2013 - 01:15 PM

OOPs I should finish reading before posting!!! I need to go back to grade school and learn to read with comprehension.

It sounds like the new VX controller has the same early teething problems like the CGEM.

#10 will1384

will1384

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2013

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:29 AM

I called Celestron early this morning, and told them about my hand controller, they said they would send me a new hand controller via UPS ground, but they wanted to test the new hand controller for a few days before they sent it to me, and that they wanted me to send the old hand controller back along with a purchase receipt.

#11 will1384

will1384

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2013

Posted 09 April 2013 - 06:05 PM

I got a hand controller from Celestron yesterday, it does look refurbished, and the start up text is displayed with a different font, and thicker letters, but it works, it was sent UPS, it took just about a week with shipping to get a replacement.

Now I am thinking about getting a Celestron SkyQ, just in case the hand controller dies again.

#12 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:15 PM

You can change the font in the hand controller menu.

Stan

#13 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:15 PM

I got a hand controller from Celestron yesterday, it does look refurbished, and the start up text is displayed with a different font, and thicker letters, but it works, it was sent UPS, it took just about a week with shipping to get a replacement.

Now I am thinking about getting a Celestron SkyQ, just in case the hand controller dies again.


The SkyQ is not going to work until they fix the firmware in the AVx. The SkyQ reads the mount as alt/az.

#14 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:16 PM

I called Celestron early this morning, and told them about my hand controller, they said they would send me a new hand controller via UPS ground, but they wanted to test the new hand controller for a few days before they sent it to me, and that they wanted me to send the old hand controller back along with a purchase receipt.


Well good luck to them. I am not sending something back unless it is pre-paid. Why should I have to pay for the privilege of sending back a warranty item? I'll keep it so I can replace the case after 5 years or so.

#15 will1384

will1384

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2013

Posted 09 April 2013 - 10:48 PM

You can change the font in the hand controller menu.

Stan


I did not know that, the font of the text that’s displayed when the hand controller first loads up was different, but the rest of the text was the same as the old unit.

I did also have to change the time and GPS as it was set to some were else.


The SkyQ is not going to work until they fix the firmware in the AVx. The SkyQ reads the mount as alt/az.


Well that’s not good, I was looking foreword to using my Android tablet with my telescope.

Well good luck to them. I am not sending something back unless it is pre-paid. Why should I have to pay for the privilege of sending back a warranty item? I'll keep it so I can replace the case after 5 years or so.


They did email me a UPS shipping label, but it refused to print correctly, so I had to take a screen capture and then edit and print an image file.

They also told me it would be a good idea to save all the shipping boxes and foam that came with the VX mount as I may need to send the entire thing back :confused: I am glad the VX mount is working so I dont have to, but I am keeping the boxes just in case ;).






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics