Jump to content


Photo

Can't run NexRemote CGEM - no appropriate license

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 08:22 AM

I cannot run NexRemote to work with my new CGEM telescope mount.
I have Alienware laptop from Dell, Intel i7 2.20Ghz processors, 8 GB RAM, 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium with Service Pack 1, Administrator privileges.

I'm using Trip-Lite Keyspan USA-19HS Serial to USB adapter (which several users have noted works with NexRemote). I downloded the latest drivers for the adapter and installed and checked that it worked with the Keyspan Serial Assistant program supplied with the adapter.

I installed NexRemote using the CD that came with my mount. It gets to the stage of installing the virtual drivers and hangs. After 15 minutes it is still hung ("This may take some time..."). The install won't exit, requiring me to go into task manager to kill the install. I tried running the install in the Windows compatibility mode for XP, but this gives me another error message.

I go to Celestron knowledge base and find:
****"
Q: My Celestron software won’t run on my Windows 7 computer. Help!
A: If you have NexRemote, HCupdate, MCupdate,PECTool compatibility issues, simply download the latest versions from Celestron’s Manuals/Drivers page. They will work with Windows 7 32-bit and 64-bit systems.
For the newest Windows 7 compatible version, go to our downloads page and simply download the latest version and use your same license key:
http://www.celestron...3/downloads.php
For the old version, if you get the message "ERROR NexRemote is not allowed to run on WinNTx Setup Aborted" when trying to install NexRemote on a Windows 7 machine, try setting the compatibility mode for the Operating system’s installer to Windows XP 32-bit.
This should allow you to install NexRemote, which is compatible with 32-bit Windows XP and Vista systems."
*****

I went to Celestron download site and downloaded version 1.7.22 and used it (NexRemoteInstall_1_7_22.exe). The installation went fine and icons appear for NexRemote, NexTour, and NexGPS on my desktop. (Strangely the NexTour icon does not have the correct icon picture but a generic windows default picture. It still points to the correct file.)

I run NexRemote and get the dreaded "You do not have the appropriate license for this software".
I go to Celestron knowledge base and find
****
Q: "I’m upgrading NexRemote to a new version from the Celestron website. I get the message “License may be corrupt” and/or “You do not have the appropriate license for this software” stopping me from upgrading.
A: The issue here is files left after the uninstall of the older NexRemote version. These files and references to them can block the newer software from proper installation.
The vcom.dll file causes this problem. In Windows file explorer, go to C:\windows\System32 and find this file (and a duplicate file, vcom2.dll, which may or may not be present). Delete the file(s). Then install the new NexRemote version.
*****

I go to my C:\windows\System32 directory - there is no vcom.dll file, no vcom2.dll. I use search and there are no such files on my computer.

I've uninstalled everything, rebooted, reinstalled and get the same problem. After 2 hours of searching and trying I give up. What's the trick?

I tried again - uninstalled, deleted the c:/Program Files (x86)/Celestron/NexRemote folder.
Right click on setup and Run as Administrator.

This time it got through the install virtual driver in <30 sec and finished the install!

With a smile on my face, I click on the short cut NexRemote and......
same old message:
"You do not have an appropriate license to use this functionality"

Doesn't help this time to right click and run as administrater - immediately the same old message.

Are there some files or entries in registy that are causing this that I could delete? Perhaps the newer versions don't use the name vcom.dll or use the registry

Arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Anyone else with this problem and a solution?

Help me ObiWan, you're my only hope...

#2 neotesla

neotesla

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1121
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 31 March 2013 - 08:29 AM

Run CCleaner and clean up all the old registry inserts...

#3 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

    Apollo

  • ***--
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:03 AM

If that .DLL is "hidden" you will not be able to find it.

Open Control Panel.
Double Click Folder Options.
Click the View tab.
From here you can "un-hide" hidden files.

This is the first thing I do when I get a new computer, or if I restore an old one to the factory image.

#4 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 11:21 AM

Me too. I have Folder Options/View/Hidden files and folders/Show hidden files, folder, and drives - checked.

...Hide extensions for known file types - unchecked.

...Hide protected operating system files (Recommended) - unchecked.

#5 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 11:25 AM

Is this a known solution or just something to try?
Do I need to know the name of the key or does this program just delete keys that are no longer needed or referenced or something? Like most installation routines nowadays, even the log file doesn't tell you what it's done to the registry.

#6 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 12:15 PM

I found an old thread from a user trying to get NexRemote to install on Win 7 computer (http://www.cloudynig...98/Main/4733563 dated 8/6/2011)
who reported a problem after installing with a white screen instead of controls. He solved by turning off real time scanning in McAfee antivirus.
I've tried turning off my Norton antivirus (including SONAR their real time protection).

Didn't help.

#7 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15562
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 31 March 2013 - 12:31 PM

Uninstall NexRemote. Run CCleaner (exercising the "clean Registry" option), reinstall.

#8 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 03:53 PM

I downloaded and installed CCleaner.
I uninstalled NexRemote.
I ran CCleaner and found a couple of entries referencing NexRemote (an uninstaller reference and MUI reference):
Uninstaller Reference Issue NexRemote HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Management\ARPCache\NexRemote
Missing MUI Reference C:\Program Files (x86)\Celestron\NexRemote\NexRemote.exe HKCU\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\MuiCache

I let CCleaner remove all the problems it found, ran it again and again until no more problems.

Rebooted.
Disabled Norton antivirus real-time protection
Ran install as administrator.
Installed everything ok, 3 shortcuts on desktop to NexRemote, NexTour, NexGPS.
Run NexRemote, tadah, same error message:
"You do not have an appropriate license to use this functionality"

It doesn't even give me a chance to entire the code for the program, nothing else comes up.

I'm going to try and install on a desktop computer running Windows XP and see what happens.

[Should I post this in the software forum instead? In addition?]
I've got an email out to Celestron but don't expect to hear back for several days.

#9 gastargazer01

gastargazer01

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Flowery Branch GA

Posted 31 March 2013 - 03:55 PM

Do a system restore prior to your install. Disable any virus protection. My install went fine you may need to right click on the setup/install and run as administrator. Just a few quick ideas

#10 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2538
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 31 March 2013 - 03:57 PM

When you open nexremote and right click on it does the enter license option available? I am using nexremote with win7 64bit.

#11 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 04:28 PM

That's the problem - when I run NexRemote I don't get anything but a popup Window that says I don't have the appropriate license. I can only close the popup - the program never really gets to the point where I see anything.
See attached screen shot.

Attached Files



#12 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 04:32 PM

A system restore! That seems pretty drastic. Back to when?
And I did the disable Norton Antivirus (*BLEEP* it off) and the run as administrator thing.
I think I'll try on another computer first.

#13 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 31 March 2013 - 04:49 PM

Did you re-install the newer program from the web site or did you use the CD? You want to use the program from Celestron's site. I'm running mine on a win 7 64 bit in compatibility mode Windows XP sp3.

Stan

#14 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15562
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 31 March 2013 - 04:55 PM

I downloaded and installed CCleaner.
I uninstalled NexRemote.
I ran CCleaner and found a couple of entries referencing NexRemote (an uninstaller reference and MUI reference):
Uninstaller Reference Issue NexRemote HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Management\ARPCache\NexRemote
Missing MUI Reference C:\Program Files (x86)\Celestron\NexRemote\NexRemote.exe HKCU\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\MuiCache

I let CCleaner remove all the problems it found, ran it again and again until no more problems.

Rebooted.
Disabled Norton antivirus real-time protection
Ran install as administrator.
Installed everything ok, 3 shortcuts on desktop to NexRemote, NexTour, NexGPS.
Run NexRemote, tadah, same error message:
"You do not have an appropriate license to use this functionality"

It doesn't even give me a chance to entire the code for the program, nothing else comes up.

I'm going to try and install on a desktop computer running Windows XP and see what happens.

[Should I post this in the software forum instead? In addition?]
I've got an email out to Celestron but don't expect to hear back for several days.


Right click on the icon for the install program and select "run as administrator" from "Properties" if you haven't done that already." That my do the trick. Otherwise...

I would join the Yahoogroup for NexRemote. Not a lot of activity there at present, but you can still catch some of the NR gurus...and I am betting you'd get help purty soon.

#15 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 08:05 PM

Downloaded newest version from Celestron 1.7.22. Same error message. When I tried compatablility mode with it I got a different error - couldn't run in NT or something.

Now to add insult to injury - I just installed the CD version 1.7.18 on my desktop running Win XP Service Pack 3 - ran perfectly the first time, no glitches. Guess I'll have to lug a desktop with me!

Perhaps I'll try installing the CD version which is 1.7.18 in Win XP compatability mode on my laptop. Hate to use an older version but might be last resort.

#16 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2538
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 31 March 2013 - 08:26 PM

Really strange. I have win7 64bit and a i7 cpu. I had 8GB ram but have since upgraded to 32GB. It installed fine and operated fine. I have upgraded to v1.7.22 and still no problem. Somewhere some vestige of the botched install is not being removed when you delete.

#17 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 11:21 PM

I bet your right - that's why I tried CCleaner - but I can't find something if I don't know where to look for it. Maybe Celestron can help me or I'll try Yahoo group NexRemote.

#18 Megabusa

Megabusa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 711
  • Joined: 28 May 2012
  • Loc: Page ,AZ

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:30 AM

Boy-O-Boy I just went round&round with Celestron & HP , Hp said it Wes a Software Problem from Celestron, Celestron said it was a PC problem from HP and then after some time they said it was my fault ? OK all I can tell you is this , I got a NEW HP All in one desk top Windows 8 for my Observatory ,At the end of the Nexremote download I got a Update Serial Port Driver Failure Oxe0000203 and PC locks up , Sounds a little like what happened to you , I tried everything , from calling Celestron to a total Recovery on a NEW PC , Same-O-Same-O Then it hit Me ! My CGEM-DX has a RS232 Serial Port Old school for a New Mount? My HP Omni All In One PC has only USB ports No serial Ports not even for the Monitor its all in one , That said I took the Windows 7 Desk top from the House that has Serial Port for the monitor and swiped them , I Downloaded Nexremote with NO problems , I could be wrong I'm not good at this kind of stuff but maybe if theres no Drivers for a Serial Port then how can it update or refig the Driver thats not there ? Now I'm not saying thats your problem but it worked for Me.

#19 Megabusa

Megabusa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 711
  • Joined: 28 May 2012
  • Loc: Page ,AZ

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:34 AM

About the Product Key ,Celestron said to delete Nexremote and Reboot the PC before Downloading it from there Site where no Key is needed ,O-BY-THE-WAY I like using Windows 7 over 8 , I HATE Windows 8 but that's OK because my Wife uses the House PC way more then Me anyway. :roflmao:

#20 beammeup

beammeup

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Straight of Gibraltar

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:35 AM

I had exactly the same problem when upgrading nexremote version 6 to version 7 (PC running windows 7 32 bit), but I managed to resolve it by deleting the 2 Vcom files, the problem now is that it does not save my registration key when I enter it.

#21 Megabusa

Megabusa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 711
  • Joined: 28 May 2012
  • Loc: Page ,AZ

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:57 AM

I Really Like Celestron Stuff , But they need to stay ahead of the New Software game , We paid about $450.00 Bucks for a camera some years ago , It's still like New but can't download the Smart-M Card ,No PC has it any more , I have to find a SM Card reader to plug in my PC , Things go out of date to quick , I guess it's all about the $$$

#22 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:06 PM

That's why you have to get a USB to serial port adapter so you convert one of your USB ports to a serial port to plug the cable for your scope into. I use Tripp-Lite Keyspan USA-19HS. It is a little more expensive but has a neat little program Keyspan Serial Assistant that lets you test the connection and configure the com port. (recommende by Uncle Rod)

Attached Files



#23 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:33 PM

Kudos to Uncle Ron - I went to the Yahoo Group NexRemote as he suggested. Nobody had posted for a while so I wasn't hopeful, but I thought why not. Quickly posted a copy of my request (family waiting in car to go out to eat!)

I got the solution today from Ray St. Denis who knows Windows.

The error message is a Windows message that the program NexRemote is trying to run a component that is either missing or not registered for use with NexRemote (nothing to do with the license key you have to type in for NexRemote).

He also pointed out where to find the files Celestron said were in the windows/system32 folder - for Win 7 they are in the C:\Windows\SysWow64 folder (never noticed this strange folder before, thought WOW was World of Warcraft!). That's where the offending files were -
C:\Windows\SysWow64\vComm2.dll
C:\Windows\SysWow64\vSPort.dll

Now the problem is not that the files aren't there, it's that they aren't registered with Win 7 for use (whatever that means). So you have to use regsvr32 on each.

I opened up a command window with start button, run, cmd.exe.
Then I typed: C:\Windows\SysWow64\REGSVR32 C:\Windows\SysWow64\VCOMM2.DLL
Windows responded with a little pop up window saying
"RegSvr32 - DllRegisterServer in c:\windows\syswow64\vcomm2.dll succeeded"

Next type C:\Windows\SysWow64\REGSVR32 C:\Windows\SysWow64\VSPORT.DLL
Windows responds
"RegSvr32 - DllRegisterServer in c:\windows\syswow64\vsport.dll succeeded"

Then I run NexRemote and it works - get the window with a message from Celestron, ok, then the Hand control comes up! Off to the scope.....

By the way, I registered vcomm2.dll and then tried to run NexRemote. I got the message from Celestron window, but when I ok'd it, a White Ghost of a hand control came up that you couldn't do anything with - couldn't close it, didn't show up on the task bar. In Task Manager it doesn't even show up as an Application that is running. Have to go to Processes and find NexRemote.exe *32 and whip a little End Process on it to stop it. So anyone getting the white ghost remote might want to look into registering vSPort.dll (stands for Virtual Serial Port ActiveX Control from Eltima Software).
:roflmao:

Attached Files



#24 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 01 April 2013 - 06:41 PM

This is the white Ghost Remote when VSport.dll is not registered

Attached Files



#25 MarshallCrenshaw

MarshallCrenshaw

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2013

Posted 01 April 2013 - 07:02 PM

I just have to post the reply I got from Celestron technical support - I emailed them Saturday outlining my problem.

The good news - the program is free.
The bad news - I guess they no longer provide any support.

*******************************
Celestron Support

Posted On: Apr 01 2013 04:38 PM
Hello Marshall,
Thank you for contacting Celestron Technical Services. Sorry to hear about the issue. Please make sure that you uninstall any version of Nexremote from your computer before installing the software from the website as this is now a free software and no longer requires a license. Make sure that you reboot your system before and after you unistall and install the software.



Thank you,

Tyler

Celestron Technical Services
**********************************

Thanks a lot Tyler :tonofbricks:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics