• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 kenrenard

kenrenard

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Dunmore, PA

Posted 01 April 2013 - 07:43 PM

I am new to sketching here is my first try at M42. I need to practice but I am still enjoying it.
I sketched with my 8 inch dob with a 24mm Panoptic.

Ken

Attached Files

#2 rolandlinda3

rolandlinda3

Gemini

• Loc: Crozet VA 22932

Posted 01 April 2013 - 09:08 PM

Ahhhh, very good for a first try. You will love going back to it because it invites discovery in so many ways. And, it's a nice early evening Western object.

#3 PeterDob

PeterDob

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Castelnovo ne' Monti, Italy

Posted 02 April 2013 - 05:49 AM

First try? Are you serious??? Your sketch is just beautiful! It's got a lot of "life" or... hmmm... difficult to find a good word for it... dynamicity. I love it!

Peter

#4 kenrenard

kenrenard

Surveyor 1

• -----

Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:03 AM

Thank You for the kind words Roland and Peter. I was seeing so much nebulosity especially on the one side of the trapezium. I was trying to capture it without going overboard.

Orion is such a beautiful object.

Ken

#5 niteskystargazer

niteskystargazer

Gemini

• Loc: 41-43'-28" N 87-42'-39" W

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:40 AM

Ken,

Very good 1st try of M-42 :).

CS,KLU,

:thanx:,

Tom

#6 Dee

Dee

Viking 1

• Loc: Ireland

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:41 AM

Very nice first try , perhaps include it within a circle to give it context. 8 inch dobs are so so good !
Dee

#7 kenrenard

kenrenard

Surveyor 1

• -----

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:57 AM

Thanks You Tom and Dee.

Dee I will have to add a circle going forward. I have to be careful not to smear the white pastel. It gets messy with my hands while drawing. Perhaps I should add the circle(eyepiece view) as the ending.

Thanks for the tips.

Ken

#8 JeanB

JeanB

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Montreal, Canada

Posted 02 April 2013 - 12:02 PM

That's an impressive first try indeed!