Celestron/Orion Binoviewer for Newt/Dob

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Stargazer3236

Stargazer3236

Mariner 2

• Loc: Waltham, MA

Posted 02 April 2013 - 11:22 PM

I am curious, I want to use a binoviewer on my Orion XT10 and XX14g. Would either of those binoviewer work? If not, why? I am kind of new to binoviewing in a telescope. I know they work great for SCT's and Refractor's, but not for Newts?

Thanks for your feedback.

#2 hdt

hdt

Messenger

• Loc: N35°10' W106°32'

Posted 03 April 2013 - 12:50 AM

Hello, DG,

No optical reason why not. Ergonomically--you may not want to use a binoviewer on a telescope where the binoviewer is mounted where its orientation may change in more than 1 axis. (So, if you mount an SCT or refractor on an equatorial mount, you may not really want the binoviewers, for example).

Although Dobsonian mounts are alt-az, depending on the size of the Dobsonian, it may be difficult to place the binoviewer at a convenient location.

Think about a single eyepiece--to put one eye into the eyepiece, you have a lot more freedom to adjust your position relative to the scope. To put *both* eyes into two eyepieces which are fixed to the scope? You may need to turn your body and your neck.

Regards,

hdt

p.s. and welcome to CloudyNights!

#3 sopticals

sopticals

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: New Zealand

Posted 03 April 2013 - 02:18 AM

Hi DG Aucoin, :)