My very first astro images

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 jerry10137

jerry10137

Messenger

• Loc: Texas, USA

Posted 07 April 2013 - 07:43 PM

After much research and collecting the right range of equipment for me, I have successfully captured my first batch of light frames from a Canon DSLR 1000D (modified). I got so excited in the hustle of working in one session that I didn't take any flats or darks. Still not quite sure how to take flats or if they are even needed. Anyway, I'm still learning the processing techniques so if anyone here wants to play with my stacked tiff's, let me know how to get them to you. I'd love to see what some of you can come up with. I have M13, M81 and M82. They will not be the best but I'd like to see what they are capable of.

Thanks in advance.

#2 Falcon-

Falcon-

Aurora

• Loc: Gambier Island, BC, Canada

Posted 07 April 2013 - 07:45 PM

Sure - if you are able to post them online and link in the forums I am sure a few people will take a stab at it. :)

#3 hopefulap

hopefulap

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Boulder, WY

Posted 07 April 2013 - 08:46 PM

First - welcome to CN. Can you post a link to the files? I would like to see your first astrophotos.

#4 jerry10137

jerry10137

Messenger

Posted 07 April 2013 - 09:05 PM

Well....I'm having a hard time finding a place to host such a large file. Do you have a suggestion?

#5 jerry10137

jerry10137

Messenger

Posted 07 April 2013 - 09:07 PM

They were taken with a Canon 1000D Modified and a C9.25 Edge HD. It was a viewing session that quicky turned into a short time photo session because the skies opened up real nice.

#6 hopefulap

hopefulap

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Boulder, WY

Posted 07 April 2013 - 09:10 PM

I believe that a site used quite frequently amongst the members of CN is astrobin.com. If I remember correctly, it offers up to 500Gb of storage

#7 srosenfraz

srosenfraz

Skylab

• Loc: United States

Posted 08 April 2013 - 12:07 AM