Jump to content


Photo

Is Stellarium (partially?) self-contained?

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Gordon Rayner

Gordon Rayner

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2456
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 04:30 PM

I have Stellarium on a Windows 6? or 7? desktop, with medium speed phoneline feed (not dialup!).

I have no laptop, nor tablet, nor iPhone, nor Android device, , nor even a cell phone.

If I get a laptop, (for its large screen), load it with Stellarium, and go to a remote site with almost certainly no nearby WiFi , would some or all of Stellarium run with no external input? Or, is there similar software which would run autonomously on a big screen laptop ?

#2 dan777

dan777

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 793
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Indiana

Posted 12 April 2013 - 04:57 PM

Yep, Stellarium is self-contained. The only time you need access to the internet is to update the software to a newer version or to add comets or asteroids to Stellarium's object database.

#3 Man in a Tub

Man in a Tub

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10923
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Fogpatch, CA

Posted 12 April 2013 - 04:58 PM

I don't think you should have any problem with Stellarium if you're not "connected." I've never had any problems. However, one thing I would do with the current versions is uncheck "Extend search with Simbad" under in the search (F3) options tab. There are probably a few other things to turn off, e.g., uncheck satellite updates.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics