Jump to content


Photo

HELP WITH UCAC 3 AND 4

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 p1taylor

p1taylor

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2008
  • Loc: West Midlands UK

Posted 14 April 2013 - 09:42 AM

Hi can any body help so I can use UCAC 3 AND 4, I HAVE CDS but computer dos not recognise them files are in a folder u4b there are z001 to z900 files, do I need a program to open them.

peter

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8550
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2005
  • Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 14 April 2013 - 10:16 AM

What is CDS? Do you mean CD's? In which planetarium programme do you want to install these catalogues?

#3 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

    Apollo

  • ***--
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 14 April 2013 - 10:20 AM

Are you sure the disks are not DVDs? According to the USNO website those catalogs were shipped on DVDs....

http://www.usno.navy...al-IR-prod/ucac

#4 p1taylor

p1taylor

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2008
  • Loc: West Midlands UK

Posted 14 April 2013 - 10:59 AM

Yes thy are DVDs sorry for that getting to old for this, MegaStar 5 for a start.

peter

#5 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5845
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 14 April 2013 - 12:33 PM

The DVD's are probably encoded for the wrong region. DVD drives have region settings when they are originally installed and configured to match the region they would be used in. It can be changed but only a limited number of times before you are locked out of anymore changes.

The DVD's(I'm guessing) may be configured to be used in a different region than you are in. The USA is in Region 1. The UK is in Region 2.

Just a thought..

#6 Gasmansteve

Gasmansteve

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2012
  • Loc: North Yorkshire UK

Posted 14 April 2013 - 01:35 PM

Hi Peter
Sorry can`t help with Megastar but if you give Cartes du Ciel a try all the UCAC4 stuff is on their site and already formatted ready to download and install!.
Steve

#7 obrazell

obrazell

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2005
  • Loc: United Kingdom

Posted 16 April 2013 - 06:03 PM

Megastar 5 will not read UCAC3 or 4. The can access USNO A2 but little development has happened on this program for almost 8 years.

Owen

#8 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15396
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:24 AM

Yep. Encoding is not a factor with these data disks. Poor old Megastar just can't do it. I keep hoping Will-Bell will decide their property is valuable enough to update, or that Emil will regain interest and buy it back from them. It, along with Deep Space 3D was my most used program all through the 1990s. :(






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics