Jump to content


Photo

Powering a DSLR in the field

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 KD58

KD58

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: West Texas

Posted 16 April 2013 - 12:59 PM

I have a modded 60D for which I bought an ACK-E6 to use instead of the battery to keep the camera cooler. The battery is 8.1V and the ACK-E6 requires an AC outlet. How would I use it in the field? The only way I could think of was to use an DC-AC invertor connected to my 12V battery power source but would that be an extra drain on the battery? I would appreciate any help and suggestions.

#2 Patrick

Patrick

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11438
  • Joined: 15 May 2003
  • Loc: Franklin, Ohio

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:19 PM

I think you have three choices for field work.

1) As you suggested, use an inverter and make your 12v battery plans accordingly.

2) Use standard 60D batteries while in the field.

3) Use standard 60D batteries in a battery grip . That will keep the heat further away from the sensor and let you use two batteries at the same time. The downside is that the camera is heavier.

Patrick

#3 fmhill

fmhill

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 436
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2012
  • Loc: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:20 PM

You need one of these:
http://www.astronomi.../canonpower.htm

#4 Toxic Coolaid

Toxic Coolaid

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 582
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2011
  • Loc: NorthEast Tennessee

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:22 PM

the Celestron PowerTank has a 9v output. I have a 120v power supply for the 60Da that came with the camera. The cord unplugs from the 120v transformer and will plug right into the PowerTank. Below is just a quick search for the PowerTank

http://www.buydig.co...roogle&omid=...

http://www.camerachu...99?refid=Google

#5 Patrick

Patrick

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11438
  • Joined: 15 May 2003
  • Loc: Franklin, Ohio

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:36 PM

You need one of these:
http://www.astronomi.../canonpower.htm



I like the idea, but I don't see one for a Canon 60D.

Patrick

#6 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:39 PM

I spent last weekend in White Sands (my annual pilgrimage to the star party) and this time I only brought my DSLRs for imaging. I bought a battery grip for each, and double batteries (maybe $45 on ebay for each) and both cameras ran all night long from sunset to sunrise without an issue, and they were active the entire time. This kept the need for extra gear and wires to a minimum.

#7 fmhill

fmhill

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 436
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2012
  • Loc: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 03:46 PM

They have one, I have a 60Da, seems to me I sent the fellow an e-mail and he advised me as to which one is used with the 60Da... That was a year ago, I no longer have the e-mail so would suggest you contact them and ask... I do know they have one that works with the 60Da, I think its the 1000d version but not sure at this point...

#8 Toxic Coolaid

Toxic Coolaid

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 582
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2011
  • Loc: NorthEast Tennessee

Posted 16 April 2013 - 04:18 PM

60D,7D, and 5D all use the same battery.. if that helps any

#9 fmhill

fmhill

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 436
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2012
  • Loc: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 06:48 PM

It has taken a bit of research however I found the e-mail, and the link to the correct page on the Astronomiser web site for the 60Da Camera DC power adapter/cord:

http://astronomiser....pro.htm#ast5ddc

#10 KD58

KD58

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: West Texas

Posted 16 April 2013 - 09:52 PM

the Celestron PowerTank has a 9v output. I have a 120v power supply for the 60Da that came with the camera. The cord unplugs from the 120v transformer and will plug right into the PowerTank. Below is just a quick search for the PowerTank

http://www.buydig.co...roogle&omid=...

http://www.camerachu...99?refid=Google


I have the Orion 17Ah battery and the ACK-E6 will not attach to the 9V outlet when removed from the transformer.

#11 KD58

KD58

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: West Texas

Posted 16 April 2013 - 09:55 PM

It has taken a bit of research however I found the e-mail, and the link to the correct page on the Astronomiser web site for the 60Da Camera DC power adapter/cord:

http://astronomiser....pro.htm#ast5ddc


This looks really good and works out to be still cheaper than the ACK-E6 (canon). I plan to email them to see if I could get one shipped at reasonable cost. It should solve the problem.

#12 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1569
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 16 April 2013 - 10:29 PM

I use a DC-DC switching regulator to drop the 12V from my field use battery to 8V for the Canon camera. You can buy these on eBay for $2 (USD) each. These little beasties are a prebuilt circuit board that's around 5x2x2 cm. I cut the AC adapter off of the cord and replaced it with PowerPole connectors which prevent hooking it up backwards nand frying the camera's electronics. The cut off wall wart had a set of connectors added to the remaining few cm of cord so I can still use the AC adapter if I should ever need it.

I'm also using the same arrangement for a 5V supply for an externally powered USB hub. My mount is powered from a buck-boost regulator which gives me 13.6V no matter what the battery voltage is. I picked 13.6V because, when AC is available, I can use that to recharge the 17AH 12V battery that runs everything.

Phil

#13 Nils_Lars

Nils_Lars

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10055
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Santa Cruz Mountains , CA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 10:41 PM

I still feel a deep cycle in the field is the best bet since you might need it for so many things , dew straps , laptop , mount , etc.

#14 JMW

JMW

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1568
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Nevada

Posted 22 April 2013 - 11:22 PM

I use a 12 volt power supply for my 6D and 7D. It is made by Cersis Astro. They modify the AC power adapter and use the battery adapter from that. They provide a 7.4 volt regulated power supply that uses 12 volts DC for input. Works great. You also can still use the A/C power supply to feed it when you don't have to run on 12 volt batteries. I have be using it for a while and have the older version for my old 40D.

#15 KD58

KD58

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: West Texas

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:36 PM

It has taken a bit of research however I found the e-mail, and the link to the correct page on the Astronomiser web site for the 60Da Camera DC power adapter/cord:

http://astronomiser....pro.htm#ast5ddc


I bought the adapter from Andy at Astronomiser and hooked it up to a 12V battery. It wouldn't power my 60D. I tried different power supplies, including an AC to 12V DC 5A adapter but it still wont power. I emailed Andy and he said it requires 12-15V and 2.5 A to run. I'm not sure what the problem might be but I guess I'll just have to use the ACK-E6 with an inverter.

#16 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3786
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 07 May 2013 - 06:07 PM

By any chance, did you get a message that said in effect the camera could not communicate with the adapter? If so, just accept it and see if it works then.

#17 KD58

KD58

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: West Texas

Posted 08 May 2013 - 05:46 AM

No. The battery sign shows an empty battery. I haven't been able to elicit any other response with the various power sources I have tried. Is it possible that the output from the adaptor is too low due to an error in manufacturing? I am completely ignorant of even basic electronics.

#18 KD58

KD58

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: West Texas

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:26 AM

I am sending the adapter back and it will be replaced. Lets see if the new one works. It would certainly simplify things if it did, thereby obviating the need for an inverter.

#19 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6624
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 08 May 2013 - 10:24 PM

Some camera models need "chipped" battery. In some models, only the factory battery will make it happy. Fleabay usually has those after-market batteries "with chip" as well. The after-market ones with the chip only costs few dollars more than the ones without.

For a pseudo battery (shell without the actual Li-Ion cells), as used in the external power adapter, the same story goes. If that camera needs to see the chip to be happy, it's just a few dollars fix.

Clear Skies!

ccs_hello

#20 Dwight56

Dwight56

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2010

Posted 09 May 2013 - 04:39 AM

If you have a Canon 60D you can go to the Hutech Website and order a DC adapter for you camera. Converts 12V DC to DC to Canon specific voltage I have one for my Canon 60D and and a different model for my Canon Xti.

EOS215 DC adapter for 5D Mark II & III, 7D, 60D & 6D $149.0

#21 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6624
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:11 AM

Wasabi LP-E6 (decoded battery / chipped battery) only cost $14 in Amazon. Use it as a starting point to build a pseudo battery adapter.

Clear Skies!

ccs_hello

#22 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1584
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 09 May 2013 - 03:21 PM

Great timing for this thread. I just came to ask a similiar question. I have a 12v power supply and my T1i needs 7.4v but I guess 8v is ok? So I was going to build a regulator to step down from 12 to 7.4 using the LM317 regulator and some resistors. I was curious if anyone had built something like this already so I could get a parts list. Thanks

#23 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6624
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 09 May 2013 - 05:01 PM

These DIY links should be helpful:
http://www.cloudynig.../Number/4877720
http://www.cloudynig.../Number/5162204
http://www.cloudynig.../Number/4938027

Clear Skies!

ccs_hello

#24 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1584
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 10 May 2013 - 12:24 PM

These DIY links should be helpful:
http://www.cloudynig.../Number/4877720
http://www.cloudynig.../Number/5162204
http://www.cloudynig.../Number/4938027

Clear Skies!

ccs_hello


Looks like it! Thanks for those links.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics