Jump to content


Photo

Lunar X 2013 Predictions

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 aa6ww

aa6ww

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 936
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Sacramento, Calif.

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:58 PM

Can anyone confirm this is accurate for the Lunar X show for 2013?

Lunar X 2013 Forcast
Jan 19 0149 CST
Feb 17 1618 CST
Mar 19 0640 CDT
Apr 17 1847 CDT = 1647 PDT or 4:47pm PDT (Calif. time)
May 17 0551 CDT
Jun 15 1621 CDT
Jul 15 0249 CDT
Aug 13 1350 CDT
Sep 12 0147 CDT
Oct 11 1452 CDT
Nov 10 0403 CST
Dec 09 1857 CST


This is what I found from the following URL:

http://home.comcast..../lunarx2013.pdf

If this is so, we are expecting one tomorrow, just before 5pm tomorrow, Calif time!!

Hope so!! :roflmao:

...Ralph in Sacramento

#2 buddyjesus

buddyjesus

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Davison, Michigan

Posted 16 April 2013 - 05:43 PM

this is what I have from universetoday.com

1117 April 17th 23:47UT/19:47EDT Waxing Eastern North America
1117 May 2nd 16:19UT/12:19EDT Waning Central Pacific
1118 May 17th 10:51UT/6:51EDT Waxing East Asia/Australia
1118 June 1st 4:31UT/0:31EDT Waning Western Africa
1119 June 15th 21:21UT/17:21EDT Waxing South America
1119 June 30th 16:04UT/12:04EDT Waning Western Pacific
1120 July 15th 7:49UT/3:49EDT Waxing Australia
1120 July 30th 3:16UT/23:16EDT* Waning Africa/Western Europe
1121 August 13th 18:50UT/14:50EDT Waxing South Atlantic
1121 August 28th 14:27UT/10:27EDT Waning Central Pacific
1122 September 12th 9:50UT/5:50EDT Waxing East Asia/Australia
1122 September 27th 2:00UT/22:00EDT* Waning Middle East/East Africa
1123 October 11th 19:52UT/15:52EDT Waxing Atlantic Ocean
1123 October 26th 14:12UT/10:12EDT Waning Central Pacific
1124 November 10th 10:03UT/5:03EST Waxing East Asia/Australia
1124 November 25th 3:14UT/22:14EST* Waning Africa/Europe
1125 December 10th 00:57UT/19:57EST Waxing Western North America
1126 December 24th 17:07UT/12:07EST Waning Western Pacific
*Times marked in bold denote visibility in EDT/EST the evening prior.

Read more: http://www.universet.../#ixzz2QfXgFpsg

#3 kfiscus

kfiscus

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Loc: Albert Lea, MN, USA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 06:20 PM

Thank you for the info.

#4 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3639
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 16 April 2013 - 08:47 PM

From Tucson the Moon will be Alt 67 Degrees, AZ 128 Degrees
which should make observation fairly easy. Our local weather prediction is for some rather gusty winds.

#5 Robert70

Robert70

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 506
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2011
  • Loc: The Garden State: NJ

Posted 17 April 2013 - 07:26 PM

The Lunar X sure is visible right now. Right on the terminator in the southern hemi.

#6 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3639
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 17 April 2013 - 08:15 PM

Grew up in Jersey.

Here's my pic taken from Tucson

This pic also shows the Lunar V

Attached Files



#7 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 1859
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 17 April 2013 - 08:28 PM

caught it on the east coast tonight too. tried threading my t adapter to my Hyperion 8mm Needed better focusing but I think the process shows promise on my 5i nexstar.
Posted Image
Be Well
Grey

#8 Dave Mitsky

Dave Mitsky

    ISS

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 35687
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2002
  • Loc: PA, USA, Planet Earth

Posted 17 April 2013 - 10:56 PM

I observed the Lunar X and the Lunar V through a fellow ASH member's 8" SCT at the Naylor Observatory on Wednesday night. I was teaching a class on the Milky Way, galaxies, and cosmology and while the sky was still clear (unexpectedly) we took an observing break. I could've snapped some good afocal shots of the X and V through the ASH 17" classical Cassegrain had I remembered to bring one of my cameras with me.

I showed some of the class Jupiter and its four Galilean satellites through the 17" and M44 through its 5" finder scope, as well as the binary star Cor Caroli through an 8" Dob. Other ASH members manned some of the club's other telescopes, including a 10" Newtonian and a 14" SCT. We saw a -6 magnitude Iridium flare (Iridum 75) just before the class resumed.

The sky was completely overcast by the time the class was over.

Dave Mitsky

#9 NeilMac

NeilMac

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3181
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:03 AM

last nights capture :)
18mm
1500pix

Attached Files



#10 NeilMac

NeilMac

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3181
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:04 AM

X-Spot
11mm 1 to 1

Attached Files



#11 NeilMac

NeilMac

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3181
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:11 AM

V spot
11mm 1 to 1

Attached Files



#12 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3639
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:20 PM

I really like that shot!

#13 NeilMac

NeilMac

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3181
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 19 April 2013 - 09:04 AM

Thanks!

#14 tezster

tezster

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Joined: 14 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Missisauga, Canada

Posted 08 May 2013 - 07:15 AM

So if the list provided above is correct, then Lunar X won't be visible for the remainder of 2013 in the Eastern half of North America? :(

#15 67champ

67champ

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 582
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2006
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:46 PM

My 2013 predicted "Start times" (for fully formed X) for the First Quarter Lunar X are below:

1-19 0801 UT
2-17 2233 UT
3-19 1154 UT
4-17 2357 UT
5-17 1056 UT
6-15 2121 UT
7-15 0746 UT
8-13 1844 UT
9-12 0642 UT
10-11 1950 UT
11-10 1005 UT
12-10 0105 UT


December is our best bet...

dana t






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics