27 replies to this topic

#1 Spacetravelerx

Spacetravelerx

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: New Mexico

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:17 AM

Hello World!

Fedex informs me I will in the next couple of days have in my possession a brand new MallinCam X2 with Class 0 CCD and all the accoutrements!

Yes, I drank the Kool Aid...

Even though I am a rocket scientist (I really am!), and 45+ years with this hobby, and have been dangerous with Astrophotography, this video astronomy thing is a whole new world for me.

The big questions I want to really find out -
* I love my eyepieces, but will I finally get beyond the faint fuzzies without doing LOOONG GUIDED exposures (I do love my Canon 60Da btw). Will this camera be my primary way to view the sky?
* Will the faint fuzzies look "real" in 1 minute or less?
* I do public outreach - I think in theory video astronomy is the way to go. Will it REALLY work. I will find out this Saturday...
* How tough is it to use this camera correctly? I do have the wireless exposure control AND MallinCam Control from MiloSlick on the Macintosh. And I also have the wireless control of the telescope via Sky Safari Pro from Southern Stars.
* Testing will initially be on a 10" LX200 and Coronado PST. Next up will be the 14" LX850. Will it really work with ease across the telescopes.

About my seeing conditions - I am in Rio Rancho, New Mexico with reasonably good seeing conditions. Albuquerque light dome to the South, but quite a bit is surprisingly visible. Quite a bit is visible to the East, West and North. It does help being a dry climate and above 5,000'.

And I will have almost 8 straight days of great weather.

Any fun hints, comments, etc are welcome! Thank-you Jack for testing and getting the camera to me earlier than I expected (with all the demand I was thinking I would be lucky if I got the camera in May! And the camera came to Jack 1 month earlier than planned, woo hoo!). Now I hope the camera does not make a wrong turn in Albuquerque!