EQ6 - Park, Home, Sync, EQMOD...

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 shawnhar

shawnhar

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Knoxville, TN

Posted 19 April 2013 - 07:02 PM

1st off...if you loosen a clutch, is it just me or is home position and all your sync points gone?
I am a total newb to EQ mounts, maybe I missed something, but I was screwin around and guess I didn't have the RA clutch real tight, it slipped. Everything lost, start over.
Then, power cord wasn't seated very good and during a slew the mount lost power, everything lost.
I tried to put it back to Home position but that was kind of a joke, there doesn't seem to be a way to put it EXACTLY back in Home, just a rough version, even putting the setting circles back to zero the slews were way off. Am I missing something? (No I didn't read the manual, lol)
EQMOD...if I have the sync points, can I just drive the mount with that and not use a planetarium software? The software I got with the mount, Starry Nights Pro, drains the heck outta my laptop battery. Can I use SP to get to a target, then close the program? It seems to close EQMOD when I close the program, although I have noticed the mount is still making the same noise it makes when tracking.
Thanks!

#2 proteus5

proteus5

Apollo

• Loc: Southern New Jersey

Posted 19 April 2013 - 10:46 PM

Shawn, here's a video, about half way through it shows how to set the home position and mark the mount if you need it. Set Home position on EQ6

This is how I did my Atlas. I use Cartes du Ciel for the star charts. It's free. It also shuts down EQMOD when you exit it. Since I setup each time out I clear my alignment points each time and start new. Since you're pier mounted I wouldn't think you'd have to do that. As for alignment stars. I just select the bright ones on my way to my target for the night. I don't worry about one in the east, one in the west etc. (don't have that much clear sky anyway). Seems to work OK for me.