• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 foste1cc

foste1cc

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Armada, MI

Posted 21 April 2013 - 03:15 PM

hey everyone, just wondering if anyone can tell me the pro's and cons to these two besides the one being a doublet and the other a triplet. i'm assuming the ed80t is the better of the two, but i don't want to purchase it if i can get away with the ed80 and save a few hundred.
Does having an unmodded dslr make a difference? i was reading elsewhere that saving up for some of these nice apo's are worthless if you don't have the right equipment to bring out the features they have.
I'm new to AP and have taken planetary and lunar pics, and a couple of M42, but plan on taking all the pics i can of whatever is up in the sky that night. So my intended imaging use of the scope would be for both wide field and smaller DSOs. So would one of these be more versatile?
I've been imaging with my c8 and tracking with orions 50mm SSAG, but have been reading i'm in for a head-ache imaging with the c8 for long exposure AP. So my plan was to purchase a nice, faster, apo refractor that could make imaging easier for me down the road.
Also, once i get an apo refractor, would you guys suggest tracking with my c8 and piggybacking the apo? or piggybacking the 50mm on the apo for tracking?
I'm not sure if one apo or the other would match up nicer with my equipment and which would be a better choice, feature wise and $ wise, for the current setup i have now (unmodded dslr, c8, AVX mount, 50mm SSAG)

thanks in advance for any input/suggestions! :cool:

#2 terry59

terry59

Aurora

• Loc: Colorado, USA

Posted 21 April 2013 - 04:13 PM