• Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Lee

Dave Lee

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Pinehurst, NC USA

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:02 PM

It is my understanding that enabling the Canon (T3) 'long exposure noise reduction' is simply an automated dark frame (same exposure length) that follows the light frame (and then applied automatically to the light frame).

Somewhere (don't recall where) I read a recommendation that this function be disabled. Is there a problem here (would seem to me to be an automatic dark frame/bias frame) other than the fact that this will probably extend the time that the camera will spend in the imaging process? FWIW, I am a complete newbie here.

dave

#2 robininni

robininni

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Stephenville, TX

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:27 PM

I believe your second paragraph is the answer--you take 'valuable' imaging time up doing the auto dark subtraction versus taking darks later (during the daytime for instance or on a cloudy or moonlight night). Other than that I believe it works well if I recall discussion about it correctly.

Rob

#3 pfile

pfile

Gemini

• -----

Posted 21 April 2013 - 10:47 PM

the bonus is that your dark is going to be at pretty much the same temperature as your light, since it's taken immediately afterward. generally speaking DSLRs are uncooled and the camera firmware messes with the 'raw' data internally in an attempt to reduce the visibility of dark current. this *may* make scaling DSLR darks impossible. but i have done it anyway :)

anyway so much for the pluses. the drawbacks are: what rob states above (wasted sky time) and... noise. dark signal is signal just like any other signal, and there's quite a bit of uncertainty (noise) in that signal in a single frame.