86 replies to this topic

#1 Kevdog

Kevdog

Apollo

• Loc: Desert Hills, AZ

Posted 26 April 2013 - 09:38 AM

Just came across this.
http://www.optcorp.c...or-w-fine-ad...

As a relative newbie, I'm always wondering if my collimation is good or not. Was hoping this could either fix my collimation or at least assure me that I'm pretty close.

Anyone used the system and have comments about it?

I have a Carbon Fiber C11 (fork mounted) and would like to ensure I have good collimation!

Thanks

#2 Jim W. Coleman

Jim W. Coleman

Explorer 1

• Loc: Puget Sound, Washington, USA

Posted 26 April 2013 - 10:02 AM

I have used this system to collimate my 12" Meade LX90 and it worked very very well. The main thing is to have patience and take your time. The OTA must be precisely aligned to the collimation plate, but they also provide slow motion fine tuning controls that make it pretty easy. I have been very impressed with the system - mainly because I live near Seattle and it's always cloudy or raining, so I can bring the scope in from the observatory and collimate it in my garage. :)

#3 Jim W. Coleman

Jim W. Coleman

Explorer 1

Posted 26 April 2013 - 10:10 AM

Here's a link to a pictorial I put up on how to use the Hotech Laser Collimator ... hope this helps (and hope the link comes through ... still new here and haven't figured everything out yet ... :)

http://www.colemanap...ess/tna/?cat=46

#4 ubermick

ubermick

Vostok 1

• Loc: San Rafael, CA

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:13 PM

I haven't collimated mine (but really bloody should get around to it!) but this seems like a bit overkill when from what I've repeatedly read, a star does the job nicely?

#5 Kevdog

Kevdog

Apollo

Posted 26 April 2013 - 05:21 PM