Photo

Help me decide on a telescope ($2k :) (Beginner)

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 JoeStarPR

JoeStarPR

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 26 April 2013 - 09:19 PM

Hi all:
My budget is around $2,000, I have done my research but I'm a total novice!.
I am also a photographer and as such, I will eventually use it to take photos as well.

With that info here is what I have so far:

Mount - LX80 Multi-mount (like the expansion options and initially would like to spend the most amount of $$ on the mount instead of the scope)

Explore scientific 80mm ED APO Triplet
Orion 80 ED APO
Orion 102mm refractor
Explore scientific 127 or 102 AR Doublet
Sky-Watcher 100mm ED

Reflectors<-- don't know much about these
Cassegrains - I've looked through them before but I don't know much about them either.

This scope will need to last me a long time so quality is a plus!

I want to learn astronomy as a family activity so I would use it for visual observations first and imaging second.
I would like my scope to be versatile enough to be able to see faint fuzzies , Deep objects and planets

I don't have a backyard (2nd floor apartment) BUT I am 3 minutes from a park with an observatory and watch area with minimal light AND I am 15 minutes away from Alligator alley !

Any help, suggestions, ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks for the help and evening from FL :bow:
JoeStarPR

#2 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

Apollo

• Loc: Southern California

Posted 26 April 2013 - 09:38 PM

As a member of Cloudy Nights you will also get a small discount :)

click here to make your dreams come true

#3 GOLGO13

GOLGO13

Gemini

• Loc: St. Louis area

Posted 26 April 2013 - 09:48 PM

I have too many negatives about the lx80 mount. Look toward orion or celestron for the mount. Of those scopes I like the skywatcher 100 for visual...I would do an orion triplet 80mm for imaging.

The 8 inch sct suggested would be awesome...then get an 80mm triplet later.

#4 panhard