• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 kraberus

kraberus

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 27 April 2013 - 02:54 PM

I am looking for a good first computerized EQ mount. I'm almost a total beginner (using binos currently) so this is probably a totally noob question, but...

One concern I've seen about many GoTo mounts is what happens when power is lost. Can the Celestron VX mount still be used manually without power?

Thanks,
Nick

#2 MartinTreadgold

MartinTreadgold

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Netherlands

Posted 27 April 2013 - 05:21 PM

No, you need power always. It's a computerized EQ mount, so it needs power to work. I would consider buying a 12v power tank if you don't already have one.

If you have the luxury of mains electricity when you do your astro viewing, i.e. in your back garden with an extension lead for your lawnmower, then you can buy the mains adapter for it.

But otherwise, everyone should have a power tank.

Best Regards

Martin

#3 MartinTreadgold

MartinTreadgold

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 27 April 2013 - 05:26 PM

For a beginners EQ mount, the VX mount is great, i bought mine last month and its worked like a dream so far.

(FYI most-if not all- computerized EQ mounts can only be operated with power, not manually)

#4 kraberus

kraberus

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 27 April 2013 - 10:24 PM

Good to know, thank you. I've been debating starting out with a computerized mount or something a little less fancy. Out of curiosity, why did you opt for an EQ mount for your 5SE?

#5 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

Apollo

• ***--
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 28 April 2013 - 10:35 AM