Jump to content


Photo

AC adapter for EQ6

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 IanD

IanD

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Posted 27 April 2013 - 06:06 PM

I'm planning on setting up a home observatory and want to run an AC line out to it for my computer, camera and other gear. So I figured I might as well find an way to power my EQ6 as well. Does anyone know of a reliable, well made adapter for it?

#2 frolinmod

frolinmod

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1931
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 27 April 2013 - 07:24 PM

Send an e-mail off to info@kwtelescope.com. They're Canadian and should be able to sell you one for cheap. (Disclaimer: KW Telescope is where I purchased my AZ-EQ6 and AZ-EQ6 related accessories.)

What I did was to buy a second DC adapter from KW Telescope, cut the cigar lighter plug off one end and crimp on some Anderson powerpole connectors instead.

When I want to use AC, I plug this cord into my 13.8V DC power supply (that has Anderson powerpole connectors on its DC output).

When I want to use DC, I plug the cord into into a small RIGRunner on the side of my battery box.

The AZ-EQ6 is quite flexible as regards voltage (see the user manual).

#3 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1569
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 30 April 2013 - 06:01 PM

If you're just powering the mount, then a replacement laptop supply that outputs a well regulated 12V will do the trick. Plan on at least 3A to give you some headroom.

If you're in an observatory and will be running other stuff (ie powered USB hubs) Look into a 300-400W computer power supply. These have lots of 12V and 5V power available and should be available from computer stores for less than $40. If you're looking for a large 12V supply, check with providers of 12V supplies for Amateur Radio equipment. These are extremely well regulated, have no noise on their output, and produce 15-30A or more at 12V.

Phil

#4 John Carruthers

John Carruthers

    Skiprat

  • *****
  • Posts: 3552
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 02 May 2013 - 12:29 PM

They say 12V but are happier with 13.5V, 2A minimum.

For a stable 12V supply I use an old atx psu from a dead pc.

#5 Geo.

Geo.

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3047
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 02 May 2013 - 05:12 PM

http://www.mpja.com/ 12v power supplies from $4 to $232.

You want a M type coaxial plug with a postive center connector.

Attached Files



#6 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 03 May 2013 - 12:13 AM

The Meade LXD 75 AC adapter works great for my Atlas. 12V, 5A. It's about 59 USD. I bought mine from Astronomics, but last time I checked they weren't carrying it anymore.

#7 Geo.

Geo.

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3047
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 03 May 2013 - 11:31 AM

The LXD should have a N plug like all Meade products. Please study the differences. There will be a quiz.

If it works with the EQ-6, then I'm mistaken about the M plug being needed. :foreheadslap:

Attached Files



#8 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15807
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 03 May 2013 - 02:08 PM

I'm planning on setting up a home observatory and want to run an AC line out to it for my computer, camera and other gear. So I figured I might as well find an way to power my EQ6 as well. Does anyone know of a reliable, well made adapter for it?


There are any number of small power supplies that will do the job. You want one that will supply 2-amps minimum. Simple solution? Orion sells a wall-wart supply that works fine. ;)

#9 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 11079
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 03 May 2013 - 03:16 PM

The Meade LXD 75 AC adapter works great for my Atlas. 12V, 5A. It's about 59 USD. I bought mine from Astronomics, but last time I checked they weren't carrying it anymore.

It may work but you're probably pushing your luck a bit. George's pictures and explanation are correct. If you use a 2.5mm plug in a 2.1mm socket the center pin may make contact (and will especially if it's been split or opened a bit) but over time you should expect intermittent power issues.

#10 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:25 PM

Sorry, I was away. I have not noticed any intermediate power issues over the last year using this adapter. It fits snuggly and I use the cable supporter. Here are what my connections look like. They are different from the ones above it seems.

Attached Files



#11 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:26 PM

Adapter plug.

Attached Files



#12 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:27 PM

**

Attached Files



#13 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:34 PM

+1 for Uncle Rod's suggestion though :bow:

#14 gonzosc1

gonzosc1

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2012
  • Loc: South Carolina

Posted 12 May 2013 - 11:25 AM

orion sells a 5 amp power supply for the atlas...

#15 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 13 May 2013 - 02:09 AM

Yep, they sure do. The Meade adapter I got works for it too. It's 5 amps as well.

#16 EFT

EFT

    Vendor - Deep Space Products

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2566
  • Joined: 07 May 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:09 AM

Yep, they sure do. The Meade adapter I got works for it too. It's 5 amps as well.


Note that the Meade adapter may result in power drops because it has a 2.5mm center post tip whereas the Atlas has a 2.1mm center post socket.

#17 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hixson, TN

Posted 13 May 2013 - 12:18 PM

Thanks Ed, I'll take your word for it. I'm not too proud to admit if I'm wrong :grin:. I have noticed some oddities like temporary blinking at times when a slew has started, but I have never lost power and this blinking only happens once. I appreciate being informed.

#18 EFT

EFT

    Vendor - Deep Space Products

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2566
  • Joined: 07 May 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 13 May 2013 - 12:39 PM

Thanks Ed, I'll take your word for it. I'm not too proud to admit if I'm wrong :grin:. I have noticed some oddities like temporary blinking at times when a slew has started, but I have never lost power and this blinking only happens once. I appreciate being informed.


If the pin is spread enough, the 2.5mm adapter will work and I have done this plenty of times in the shop. But the one time it won't work is when you are in the field in the middle of a long imaging session and you get a momentary power loss and loose your alignment and image. Nobody likes it when that happens. ;)

#19 Geo.

Geo.

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3047
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 14 May 2013 - 03:09 PM

This what you need.

http://www.creativel...5mm-to-2-1mm...

Plug you Meade PS into the this plug and use it with the rest of the world. Just a warning, old SBIG equipment is wired with the center pin ground! These are available in 2.1 to 2.5, also.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics