• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 FrankJ

FrankJ

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ohio

Posted 30 April 2013 - 06:54 PM

Some thoughts from an older newbie: Since I'm new at this and have a lot to lean, I can't be of much help to the veterans of this forum, but I have a few words I would like to say to the others who are just starting; and that's about enjoying your hobby. I live in Ohio and the weather is just starting to get nice. We have a flat roof on the second story of our house that is easily accessible from a room on the second floor. Last night I put a comfortable chair out there and brought out my 10x50 binoculars. The sky was fairly clear and I sat there gazing at the sky. I wasn't sure what I was looking at, but at this point I really didn't care. I just enjoyed sitting and looking. It was so calming to the mind and body. What I'm saying is this: If you're just starting out, don't worry if there is much that you don't know about. Just enjoy the moment. I am not suggesting that you don't try to learn more--not at all--that will come with time. But, if you can't enjoy even the little that you have thus far accomplished, what's the point. In my 82 years on this earth, if there is one thing that I have learned it is to relax and not take life so seriously. Learn to laugh at your own mistakes and you will have less stress in your life--you'll live longer. So get your scope or your binocs and go outside and relax. If someone asks what you looked at in the sky and you don't know, just say, "Geez, I don't know, but it sure was enjoyable and relaxing."

#2 UBHSTRY

UBHSTRY

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 30 April 2013 - 07:07 PM

Well said.

#3 MikeBOKC

MikeBOKC

Aurora

• Loc: Oklahoma City, OK

Posted 30 April 2013 - 07:15 PM