Photo

What Do You Look At With Your Microscope?

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Curt B

Curt B

Ranger 4

• Loc: Regina, Canada

Posted 01 May 2013 - 06:26 PM

I have been thinking about getting a microscope. I had several toy ones as a child, and had lots of enjoyment from them. Besides looking at the usual prepared slides, my favorite thing to observe was Protozoa, Ameobia, etc., using the dried grass in water. I am sure there are many other objects to observe, so what do you all observe?

#2 Mentor

Mentor

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 02 May 2013 - 10:23 AM

Hi Curt,

I'm with you, and looking forward to answers to this as well. I just picked up a new compound microscope and hope to "do some science" with my 4 year old son (his words). I used to enjoy culturing protozoa as a young lad, and will definitely give that a go, along with the requisite onion skin and the like. Beyond that, not sure. I am a chemist by training, so I am looking forward to experimenting with different stains.

#3 Mentor

Mentor

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 02 May 2013 - 01:02 PM

Just to add, there seems to be a real dearth of microscopy resources online, certainly when comapred to astronomy. There is a pretty active Yahoo group, but not much else that I can find beyond that.

#4 EJN

EJN

Vanguard

• Loc: 53 miles west of Venus

Posted 02 May 2013 - 01:50 PM

Just to add, there seems to be a real dearth of microscopy resources online, certainly when comapred to astronomy. There is a pretty active Yahoo group, but not much else that I can find beyond that.

http://www.microscop...g/indexmag.html

http://www.microbehunter.com/

#5 Curt B

Curt B

Ranger 4

Posted 02 May 2013 - 05:48 PM