Getting In The NexStar Groove

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 JonNPR

JonNPR

Ranger 4

• Loc: Oregon

Posted 03 May 2013 - 06:08 PM

Hello all. I am new to Cloudy Nights although I've learned a lot by lurking recently. Like many others, your wealth of information and support and friendliness pushed me over the edge to purchase an 8SE just a few weeks ago. Although I have been observing since about 1960, my 10" Mel Bartels Dob was getting a bit too bulky and heavy to haul out as frequently as years ago. Besides greater ease in portability, I have lusted after tracking in order to concentrate more on details I know I had been missing. After a couple of more social viewing with friends in the excellent Eugene Astronomical Society, last night I was able to spend some "Quality Time" getting better acquainted in private with the new scope.

Although the late afternoon skies looked iffy Thursday, I packed up and drove a short distance out of town in hopes of maximizing May's moonless nights. Sure enough, by 10 the sky was nearly 100% clear. Virgo Super Cluster time once again!

I have fond memories of seeing Markarian's Chain for the first time, those giant ellipticals anchoring and spirals and ellipticals strung out through intergalactic space almost in pairs, like no other cosmic sight. M84 and M86 were big and bright last night; the Virgo Cluster is placed well right now, and skies were cooperative. Got in a couple hours of observing in very comfortable temperatures. The M3 globular cluster is always a stunner, and last night was no exception. Wound up the night studying the extensive M64, the Black Eye galaxy, with its prominent dust lane, and a quick view of M104, Mr. Sombrero Galaxy. Another well known prominent dust lane galaxy, but it appears smaller for me than M64.