Back focus

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Cazka

Cazka

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 04 May 2013 - 08:12 PM

I'm a beginner to the whole astrophotography scene, and am just picking out my telescope and camera, and have become confused about back focus, namely, what it exactly is.

The telescope I'm looking at is the Explore Scientific ED80 triplet refractor, and the camera I'm looking at is the Atik 320E one-shot-colour ccd camera.

Now, according to the specs, the ED80 has a back focus of 139mm from end of eyepiece holder. Does that mean that the chip of the 320E has to be 139mm away to bring the image into proper focus? If so, considering the 320E has a backfocus distance of 12mm (I'm assuming that's distance between chip and the front of the camera), that leaves 127mm left. That seems like a lot to make up. Do I have to use a whole heap of connectors that add up to 127mm? To me that seems a very inconvenient setup.

Sorry, if these questions sound stupid, but I haven't been able to find a clear definition of what the back focus number is, whether it's acceptable to have the camera chip within that distance, or whether it has to be exactly that far away to achieve focus.

#2 JoseBorrero

JoseBorrero

Gemini

• Loc: Puerto Rico Island

Posted 04 May 2013 - 08:15 PM

you will need an 2" extension adapter,therwise you consider a focal reducer/filed flattener or only a field flatter that can also substitute an extension adapter, not both.

#3 Madratter

Madratter

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 04 May 2013 - 08:31 PM

You probably will need a 2" extension tube to reach focus. I say probably because we don't know how much travel the focus unit has. I'm dubious it has the 127mm of travel (5") needed, and I'm dubious that even if it does, things would be rigid enough with it extended that far.

#4 Cazka

Cazka

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 04 May 2013 - 08:55 PM