Jump to content


Photo

Mount Upgrade Time! AP, SB, 10Micron, etc

  • Please log in to reply
186 replies to this topic

#1 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 16 May 2013 - 07:24 PM

Hi All.

Well it's time to upgrade the ole CGE-Pro. I need more capacity. The Pro was a true performer especially with add-ons such as the TDM and aeroquest/hypertune service.

I'm looking at either the AP1600, SB MEII, 10Micron CM3000HPS (coming out soon). The Planewave 200HR mount is also interesting. A Chronos HD32 would be freaking awesome but at 50 grand, that's more than double my budget.

Around a 200+ pound capacity is what I am looking for.

I'm possibly looking at getting the encoders with the mount. Having a TDM on the Pro really spoiled me.

Any and all opinions are welcomed. Pro's, con's, like's, dislike's, love, hate. It does not matter. I am in an equal opportunity kind of mood for any and all opinions.

If I get 50 replies, I'll probably get 50 different opinions but one of those opinions might sway me.

The mount will be observatory kept with a PC connected full time.

Does anyone have experience with the 10 micron mounts?

Thanks!

#2 Joe C

Joe C

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 348
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2008

Posted 16 May 2013 - 07:49 PM

If it were my choice, there would be no contest. I would opt for the AP1600. The after purchase support along with machining is second to none. AP is a ZERO compromise manufacturer. You can get support not only web based but on the phone if you want or ever need it.

Another point is that AP holds their value better than any other. Not that you would need to sell it. Everything from Roland is a lifetime piece of art.

#3 end

end

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 350
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2011
  • Loc: Houston, Texas, USA

Posted 16 May 2013 - 08:22 PM

I guess part of the answer depends what you are going to put on it. I'm curious what will push you up beyond 90lbs and approaching 200.

#4 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 16 May 2013 - 08:45 PM

HI End. My current side by side setup is 84 lbs with all gear minus the side-by side bar and cable weight.

Future expansion to an HD14 and possible Planewave will require the larger mount.

#5 jamesprovi

jamesprovi

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2008

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:18 PM

I have used the SB ME and AP1200 and both are excellent mounts (great guiding performance, robust software). I am still using the AP1200 mount (preferred the portability benefits) and agree that the support from AP is excellent. The mount has been running flawlessly since 2008 and has carried 100+ payloads easily. The Paramount ME has some advantages if you plan to operate the mount at a remote site. If you are looking for 200+ capacity, I would also recommend AP1600 or the new Paramount. I should point out that if your needs are closer to 150 ib payloads, there are excellent deals on ASTROMART for Paramount ME and AP1200 mounts.

James

#6 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27227
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:23 PM

Just to add grist for the mill:

Parallax.

Mathis Instruments.

And Mathis Instruments offers an equatorial fork...no meridian flip! Can't say that there's not enough choices!

David

#7 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:46 PM

Thanks for the links David. I'm checking them out.

I am not set on a brand yet.

#8 crow

crow

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Loc: BC, Canada

Posted 17 May 2013 - 09:55 AM

For me its simple, if you live in North America you go AP, if you live in Europe then its 10 micron. Both top of the line manufacturers but support is naturally better in home markets. If the 10 micron is so new that its not on sale yet then I'd give it a miss. I know they had a few gremlins with the 1000hps initially which they have ironed out and its now a fantastic mount. If your goal is a C14 Edge why not the new AP 1100, save some money?
I'm mountless at the mo and don't know what the hell to get, trying to figure future use into a purchase is a thinker....

#9 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 17 May 2013 - 01:21 PM

AP1600 without encoders at the introductory price is sweet.

Dave, I'm a bit bemused by your situation because you are always saying your CGE Pro will blow away any AP or SB or... :D

#10 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 17 May 2013 - 03:45 PM

Not at 150lb. Weight!

A cge pro cannot be compared to a me2. Ap1600, 10micron 3000, etc.

#11 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 17 May 2013 - 03:47 PM

What I heard is that Deep Space Products will be providing sales, service and support in the US for 10Micron mounts in the very near future.

#12 crow

crow

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Loc: BC, Canada

Posted 17 May 2013 - 06:47 PM

If thats the case thats good news.

Didn't notice your mega weight requirement. AP1600, encoders etc, how can you go wrong?

#13 WesC

WesC

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2013
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Loc: La Crescenta, CA

Posted 18 May 2013 - 03:11 AM

That would be good news, the 10Micron mounts look impressive. This won't be an easy choice.

#14 turtledude1

turtledude1

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2008
  • Loc: SW Fla.& SW. NM

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:43 AM

If your budjet is in the 25K area then why the AP 1600? I'd go all the way with the AP 3600 that covers you up to 300 pounds.

Russ

#15 korborh

korborh

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 799
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 18 May 2013 - 09:04 AM

AP 1600 with encoders.

#16 Aquarist

Aquarist

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1041
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Illinois

Posted 18 May 2013 - 02:37 PM

If it were my choice, there would be no contest. I would opt for the AP1600. The after purchase support along with machining is second to none. AP is a ZERO compromise manufacturer. You can get support not only web based but on the phone if you want or ever need it.

Another point is that AP holds their value better than any other. Not that you would need to sell it. Everything from Roland is a lifetime piece of art.


I agree which is why I ordered one. Within your budget even with encoders too. And definitely can easily handle your weight requirement at 220 lbs capacity. I have the AP recommended permanent ATS pier in my observatory; it can even be colored Astro-physics white!


#17 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27227
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 18 May 2013 - 04:11 PM

You mentioned the Planewave mount. I talked to the designer/builder at the AIC in San Jose a couple years ago. That mount is a work of art as well. The machining is exquisite and the design is very well thought out. AND it is available with precision encoders.

David

#18 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 18 May 2013 - 07:01 PM

Dave, I'm a bit bemused by your situation because you are always saying your CGE Pro will blow away any AP or SB or... :D


What I know now.. reading the Beta Tester Site, talking with the engineer (you know who), I would never ever buy a Celestron mount again. This is nothing against the pro, or the CG5 I own, it's just the back and forth BS Celestron does. The Pro started out with an advertised +/-7 PE. Then it was changed to +/-3. Now it's up to +/-5. (I guess whatever batch comes out of china at the time, they will change the PE numbers to match?) They just make stuff up as they go.. It's pathetic. If you do get a new mount that's PE is over the advertised PE, the techno mumbo jumbo that is feed to the end user is total fabrication. I love the "typical unguided PE" line they use in the advertising now. Nice out clause right there.

I also noticed on the beta site, celestron is allowing the users to make there own repairs on still under warranty mounts. Voided Warranty? Something just doesn't pass the smell test... If they can't fix the dec issue, all those "beta" testers are out of luck for warranty repair.

#19 blueman

blueman

    Photon Catcher

  • *****
  • Posts: 5310
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2007
  • Loc: California

Posted 18 May 2013 - 07:58 PM

You cannot go wrong with AP, they are good people making good mounts and they will help you out personally anytime. They will sell you a part if you need it and you talk with a real person when you call, maybe even Roland.
The quality, price, performance and support is top notch.
Blueman

#20 Calypte

Calypte

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1090
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Anza, California

Posted 18 May 2013 - 11:04 PM

It's AP all the way for me. No contest, and for all the reasons given in the other pro-AP posts.

#21 hungerford

hungerford

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 340
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2008

Posted 19 May 2013 - 01:13 AM

Hi,
I use the Mesu 200 and I am other the moon with the quality and the accuracy of the mount. Maybe it is not available in the US but it is manufactured in the Netherlands.
Vince

#22 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5291
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 19 May 2013 - 11:36 AM

Well as an AP user.... you know what I'll say.

IMHO the AP mounts are among the best bang for the buck mounts you can get. Really! compare them to say a Tak mount of comparable capacity.

The AP3600 is damn cheap! compared to the similar-capacity EM-3500.

And I can personally attest to AP's first-rate tech support. I'm not even in the US and I never call them. I was able to buy (new!) parts for my circa-1997 AP600 QMD mount. Very reasonable prices too (*cough* Celestron $130 motors *cough*).

#23 korborh

korborh

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 799
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 19 May 2013 - 02:41 PM

AP support is just phenomenal. I experienced it for my mount and was just amazed at the extent they go for the customer.
You can get fast and direct support on phone from their mount experts. They will stay on the phone as long as it takes to get your issue resolved and questions answered. Their support is second to none.

#24 Per Frejvall

Per Frejvall

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2012
  • Loc: Saltsjöbaden, Sweden

Posted 21 May 2013 - 05:35 AM

And I'm a 10Micron guy ;)

In fact, I got myself two of them and love them. One hour unguided without PC dependency.

/per

#25 coz

coz

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 236
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2010

Posted 22 May 2013 - 06:24 AM

Check out this video for an AP tour. http://www.youtube.c...h?v=qBMBqoh9WI4






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics