Jump to content


Photo

Coiled Cord for PowerGuide II ?

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 seeindoubles

seeindoubles

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2012
  • Loc: Pacific Northwest-Oregon

Posted 17 May 2013 - 01:34 AM

Has anyone out there ever tried to come up with a coiled substitute cord to go between their PowerGuide II controller and the telescope base? Factory says not available but given the determination of some folks, perhaps a Questar owner out there has custom wired something?

#2 NeilR

NeilR

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 198
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2008

Posted 17 May 2013 - 03:35 AM

It would be easy enough to make since it is just a replacement cable. You can also probably purchase coiled cords with RJ-45 plugs.

#3 Mike E.

Mike E.

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2375
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2010
  • Loc: Moonstone Observatory

Posted 17 May 2013 - 03:47 AM

There is a recent thread on the "Equipment" forum which discuss this issue, it's titled.....

" Is there a hand set coil cord extension cord ? "

#4 JimK

JimK

    Skygazer

  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2005
  • Loc: Albuquerque, NM USA

Posted 23 May 2013 - 03:36 PM

I use a coiled cord for my Powerguide connection. Attached is an image of the packaging -- I seem to recall purchasing it online from a model train company.

Attached Files



#5 JimK

JimK

    Skygazer

  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2005
  • Loc: Albuquerque, NM USA

Posted 23 May 2013 - 03:38 PM

I believe there may be many options for connecting the Powerguide to the telescope, as long as the connector wiring is correct. Notice the order of colors in this picture of the original cord.

Attached Files



#6 Mike E.

Mike E.

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2375
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2010
  • Loc: Moonstone Observatory

Posted 23 May 2013 - 04:26 PM

A picture is worth a thousand words. Thank You for posting.
A quality coiled cord "should" be the standard for a Questar.

#7 seeindoubles

seeindoubles

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2012
  • Loc: Pacific Northwest-Oregon

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:08 AM

Awesome. Thanks for posting the photo. I suspected as much but didn't want to just hook up something and risk a short or other issue.

#8 Mike E.

Mike E.

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2375
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2010
  • Loc: Moonstone Observatory

Posted 24 May 2013 - 02:36 PM

.................didn't want to just hook up something and risk a short or other issue.


Yeah, replacement cost is expensive, and for a Q7 hand control, your looking at about $700.oo :scared:

#9 seeindoubles

seeindoubles

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2012
  • Loc: Pacific Northwest-Oregon

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:29 AM

Gaaaak! That is a lot of coin for a tiny box with $2.50 in components.

#10 Steve C.

Steve C.

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 265
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Sugar Land, TX

Posted 25 May 2013 - 11:35 AM

Did they change the connector on the Powerguide II? My '78 uses RJ12.

#11 JimK

JimK

    Skygazer

  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2005
  • Loc: Albuquerque, NM USA

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:13 PM

Based on *my* limited understanding:

RJ11 and RJ12 use the same physical, 6-slot connector

RJ11 uses the inner 4 slots for wires, RJ12 uses all 6 slots for wires


And as I posted in an earlier picture, make sure that the order of wires is correct within the slots.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics