• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 DismalScientist

DismalScientist

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Columbia, SC

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:03 PM

I recently got a CG-5 mount for my old Celestron C8. After some collimating, I ended up being blown away by Saturn. I took this pic using SharpCap, a Microsoft LifeCam HD5001, and a 2x barlow. I stacked with AS!2 and processed that image in Registax6.

Attached Files

#2 Madratter

Madratter

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:33 PM

Very nice. I took the liberty of color balancing it a bit. I'll pull it down if you want me to.

Attached Files

#3 DismalScientist

DismalScientist

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:36 PM

No, leave it up! It looks good. Can you tell me what you did? I'm still learning the whole process.

#4 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

Redonkulous

• Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:40 PM

Nice work!

#5 Madratter

Madratter

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:49 PM

Can you tell me what you did? I'm still learning the whole process.

Unfortunately, I don't have a cook book answer here. I just noticed a color cast that didn't look quite right to me. I pulled up Photoshop and using the color balance tool, moved it towards cyan instead of red, and yellow instead of blue.

I did not care for what auto-color did in Photoshop. That left it way too green for my taste.

#6 MaestroMyth

MaestroMyth

Viking 1

• Loc: CT

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:50 PM

Looks like you have a great C8! Beautiful shot, congrats.

#7 DismalScientist

DismalScientist

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 18 May 2013 - 08:53 PM

Thanks!

#8 WarmWeatherGuy

WarmWeatherGuy

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Orlando, FL 28° N, 81° W

Posted 19 May 2013 - 08:14 AM

I thought I would take a stab at it. I got rid of the excessive red and it turns out there is not much color left. Did you use a red filter?

I also sharpened it a little. Everything I did was in RegiStax.

This is a really good picture for a C8.