• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 John Downing

John Downing

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:00 AM

Just set up a new OTA on my EQ-G. Had problems getting my pointing errors to less than 50 arcsec. Ran several TPoint models and used that to refine the polar. Got that refined down to about 1 arcmin off in each axis before it got too late. But the pointing remained the same at about 50 arcsec. Is this the best I can get out of this mount? Any advice on how I can get better pointing? Thanks in advance, John (Am using The Sky connected through the hand controller.)

#2 rmollise

rmollise

Hubble

Posted 20 May 2013 - 08:25 AM

Maybe I'm just old fashioned or dumb, but 50-arc seconds sounds pretty good to me. :lol:

I HAVE heard tell of even better with EQMOD, though. ;)

#3 John Downing

John Downing

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:05 AM

Well Rod, I have to admit I have little experience with this mount although I have had it for over two years and don't know what to expect from it. For visual this is fine. But I want to use it for AP & photometry with a 40D and ST-8 repsectively. So with the 40D and larger well defined objects I won't have much of a problem. But with the ST-8 and a 13x20 arsec. fov looking for patterns in faint stars to locate variables it will be more difficult, but not impossible. One thing I am worried about is the mount's having sat idle for a couple of years. Looking for advice about taking it apart, cleaning gears, lubrication etc. With the C925 it is not being weight challenged, good balance, it is quiet when slewing but does groan a bit at the start of a slew.

#4 John Downing

John Downing

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:19 AM