Jump to content


Photo

Ad hoc connection for SS+, Win7 and NexStar 8SE?

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 JonNPR

JonNPR

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 23 May 2013 - 03:49 PM

Need some advice on getting Sky Safari Pro to operate my 8SE via an ad hoc wifi network generated by a Win7 netbook, using Wifi Scope.

Wifi Scope is a delightful, clever and free utility that permits connecting an iPad (and iPhone, I guess) to a Windows computer - so one can wirelessly operate a telescope wired into the computer using Sky Safari Pro on the iPad.

I was successful doing this in a test indoors using my home wifi network. Worked first time, just as advertised. Very impressive tool! However, my nearest observing site is a couple miles from home. Until we pay off some medical bills, and my wonderful wife uses a holiday or birthday to buy me Skyfi or Sky Wire from Sourhern Stars, I wanted to get a preview of using SSP in the field.

I don't have a 3G iPad or a hotspot cellular plan. But you can set up an ad hoc wifi network on windows with an installed network card. I did that, and can see the connected adhoc network (cleverly called "NexStar"!) on the netbook, and the iPad sees it, and can connect to it. Wifi Scope sees the adhoc net also, indicated by the changed IP address it listens to.

The problem is that SS won't connect to the telescope in this configuration. It returns the failed to connect message and the instruction to check for the proper IP. I have the basic settings properly entered ( you select LX200 Classic in SS regardless of your scope; don't let SS autoconnect to SkyFi; have the Celestron driver in the latest ASCOM installed and working via the home network).

I have:

-- changed the IP address in SS to the new adhoc address that Wifi Scope is listening to.

-- shut off the home wifi network connection in the netbook and the iPad to make sure the connection is to the adhoc network, and the iPad says it is connected to the adhoc net.

-- disabling the Windows firewall, although that wasn't a problem using the home wifi network.

--restarted everything.

-- have the iPad next to the netbook, so distance shouldn't be an issue.

I haven't tried any changes with the other parameters of the connection in SS (subnet?) as I am not familiar with their functions. I'm stuck at this point since SS works very well, no dropouts, when connecting through my home network, which I have retested and that method still works.

Any suggestions or solution?

Thanks!

Jon

#2 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 06:57 PM

Jon,

I use a Win7 netbook too & AdHoc connection.
My mount is an Atlas but the setup is the same in regards to the Ipad Ad Hoc network to the netbook.

The photos are probably a rehash but maybe something in them will help confirm or alter your setup so that it works.
Do you have a similar IP as in photo #6 ?

I know you don't have a SkiFi but check this link out to see how far you can go with WiFi No Wires

Hope you find your solution soon.

Garry

Attached Files



#3 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 07:58 PM

2_PC Net Conn Details

Attached Files



#4 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:01 PM

3_PC EQ MOD Setup

Attached Files



#5 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:07 PM

4_PC Screen

Attached Files



#6 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:08 PM

5_IPAD WiFi AD HOC

Attached Files



#7 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:09 PM

6_IPAD WiFi AD HOC IP

Attached Files



#8 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:10 PM

7_SS Setup

Attached Files



#9 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:11 PM

8_SS Connect

Attached Files



#10 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:19 PM

This is the source I used to create an AD HOC net connection
AD HOC IPAD

#11 JonNPR

JonNPR

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 26 May 2013 - 12:51 PM

Gary, thanks so much , we are out of town right now but will check settings when weget back. I used the same site for instructions. Thanks again.

#12 JonNPR

JonNPR

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 26 May 2013 - 06:19 PM

Gary, I recall that I entered the ip address displayed in wifi scope into ssp. It is slightly different in the final two groups than the IP displayed in the iPad settings info. However, this was true when I was using my home network that worked.

Also, I could not alter the ip in Wifi Scope. It appears to auto select an ip, and the drop down menu for the IP in Wifi Scope is inactive. That's the only clue I could see.

Thanks again!

Jon

#13 Christopher Erickson

Christopher Erickson

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 2141
  • Joined: 08 May 2006
  • Loc: Waikoloa Village, Hawaii

Posted 26 May 2013 - 07:03 PM

I have had good luck with the Astro-Gene GCWIFI3 WiFi access point and TCP-serial adapter:

http://www.astrogene...wifi3/index.htm

It is a full infrastructure access point with DHCP server and doesn't require AdHoc mode. That usually solves a lot of problems.

#14 Garry

Garry

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Belleville, MI

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:11 PM

Jon,

It is necessary to make the PC AdHoc connection & then the IPad AdHoc connection before starting WiFiScope.The IPad connection always seems to take a minute or so to fully connect. If you start up WiFiScope beforehand WiFiScope will end up with the wrong IP. The IP will end up
something like 127.0.x.x or 192.168.x.x. The IP should be of 169.254.x.x
format. This will also be the Listening IP & the IP that you enter into SS.
The IP in the IPad AdHoc info will be 169.254.y.y as in photo #6 above.
The IP in WiFiScope will be set automatically,you will not be able to change it as you already know.

Garry

#15 JonNPR

JonNPR

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2013
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 27 May 2013 - 04:15 PM

Thanks guys. VERY helpful information and link.

Garry, I will retry and change the order that I was using, as you advise. Hopefully that will be the trick.

Yes, it was my experience also that the successful connection within SSP takes at least 20-30 seconds or so. The fail window pops up much more quickly. I must have been just lucky and unaware of the order when using my home network first time around.

@Chris - that device sounds more streamlined and effective than my jury rigged option. Did you select this device for price versus Skyfi, or for other considerations, flexibility?

My thanks again for your posts and assistance.

Jon






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics