• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Mike Foster

Mike Foster

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Rolesville, NC

Posted 23 May 2013 - 10:24 PM

I recently earned my HAM radio Technician class license. With Technician privileges the logical choice for a radio is a dual band mobile rig, 2 meter and 70 centimeter. I have become active on these 2 bands but was surprised to find out that it appears as if there is very little crossover between the hobbies locally.

Does any one know if there are any High Frequency radio operators that like to communicate when at the eyepiece or imaging? Is there an HF rig and a General Class license exam in my future?

Thanks,
Mike

#2 Bernie Poskus

Bernie Poskus

Explorer 1

• Loc: Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 13 July 2013 - 12:20 AM

Mike: I have been a ham radio operator much longer than I've been an astronomer (started astronomy 11 years ago, but have been an active ham since 1968).

In all honesty, I don't do any radio operating at the eyepiece. This is for a variety of reasons.

First, both take a lot of work and concentration. If I'm doing both, I'm likely doing both badly. I'd rather do one at a time well.

Second, with the power levels used for HF communication, there is a chance, though not great, that you would screw up someone's imaging, through RF overload of their device (e.g., their CCD camera). I'm personally not aware of this phenomenon occurring, but I'd hate to find out.

Third, both take a lot of work to set up, and so I don't want to go through that much brain damage. Indeed, the antenna necessary for HF operation will have a sizable footprint, and you'd likely trip over it in the dark.

Contrary to your impression that there is little crossover between the hobbies, I know multiple people that do both.