41 replies to this topic

#1 newtoskies

newtoskies

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: SE Ma.

Posted 26 May 2013 - 09:25 AM

Hi all.
I'm wanting to get a bigger dob, 10 or 12" and while searching CL in my area I came across this listing. The price for this scope is $400 and is new, still wrapped and packed. Nexstar SE5 Although I do want a newer and bigger dob this deal looks to good to pass up, but I have no knowledge of these scopes or go-to scopes in general.
So what do you think ? Would this scope also be good/ok for afocal short exposure AP, or video imaging ?

#2 hopskipson

hopskipson

Apollo

• Loc: Queens, New Yawk, Light pollution Headquarters!

Posted 26 May 2013 - 09:44 AM

Price new is $629. Does it come with the warranty? If yes then it's well worth it. Without the warranty it's not a bad deal either. You will not get the resolution of a 10" dob, but for grab and go it can't be beat. Should be good for short exposures and fine for video imaging. Good luck with your decision.

#3 newtoskies

newtoskies

Apollo

• -----

Posted 26 May 2013 - 09:54 AM

Thanks for the feedback on this. I know if it were the 6SE I would jump on it, but not sure about the 5SE. Doesn't say about a warranty but I doubt it. I want the 10" dob for DSO's, but man this 5SE is sooo tempting.
I know I would have to get a power pack down the road, but is there any major issue with these scopes I should know about. I have been reading this forum to learn a bit more and looking at what you all have and do with your SE's.

#4 newtoskies

newtoskies

Apollo

• -----

Posted 26 May 2013 - 09:55 AM

When I started this hobby last year the SE orange tube scopes always caught my eye and I think they look so cool.
The seller has 6 of these so I have a bit of time to decide.

#5 Sorny

Sorny

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Southern MN

Posted 26 May 2013 - 11:50 AM

I like my NexStar 5se. It is a great grab-n-go scope. I can carry the scope in 1 hand, mounted on the tripod and ready to set down and align.