Jump to content


Photo

Learning ImagesPlus

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#26 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 07 October 2013 - 04:25 AM

Is there a way to save certain settings/parameters for processing in ImagesPlus; in other words can settings be scripted in certain way. For example, say I wanted to save following ArcSinH settings so I could readily use it again, can it be done? Thx

Attached Files



#27 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 07 October 2013 - 07:46 AM

Hi Mike,

Yes you can save ArcsinH parameters or the parameters of any other filter in ImagesPlus for future use in a project file. Actually you can save a sequence of filter and copy them to a new image and apply the sequence as is or edit the sequence then apply to the new image. A sequence of filters can also be applied to a set of images using the Image Set Operations | Filter Files tool.

All of the capability for tracking and saving filter parameters is contained in the Process History window (15th bottom from the right on the top horizontal toolbar) that is maintained for each open image in ImagesPlus. The Save As button on the Process History is used to save an image with its filter sequence including mask, blend mode, and opacity used with each filter in a project file. The File | Load option is used to restore an image and its filter sequence with masks, blend modes, and opacity.

For a given open image left-click on one or more filters shown in the top right operation list of the Process History window then right-click on the selection to select cut, copy, or paste options. If you select copy then you can go to a different open image and right click on its operation list at a given selection in the list and select paste. Now all of the filters with masks, blend, and opacity are inserted into the process list of the second image. To apply all of the new filters to the second image double click on the filter before the point where all of the new filters were inserted then press the Reprocess | All Commands or Next Command button on the Process History Window.

This is all covered by video tutorials in the Basic Operation folder of the ImagesPlus install CD.


A quick guide to filter parameter tracking is at

http://www.mlunsold....QuickGuide.html

Several tutorials that cover using the Process History filter list with masks, blend modes, and layers are posted at the main tutorial page

http://www.mlunsold....Processing.html

Look for this section near the top of the above main tutorial webpage.


32 Bit Floating Point Layers with Blending Modes, Opacity, & Masks - New With ImagePlus 5.0


Process History Unlimited Undo & Redo Layers with Blend Modes, Opacity, & Masks
Quick Guide to Process History Layers - Insert, Modify, Copy, Paste, Delete, Save, and Load Project Files
Process History Unlimited Undo & Redo
Sample Project File - Automated Processing of NGC 7635 Narrow Band 4 Color Palette
Blending Modes & Opacity
Control Point & Image Masks
Using Control Point Masks
1 - Basic Steps to Apply a Filter with Blend Mode, Opacity, & Control Point Mask
Converting Control Point Masks to Image Masks
Removing Uneven Field Illumination & Local Area Processing
Using Image Masks
1 - Basic Steps to Apply a Filter with Blend Mode, Opacity, & Image Mask
2 - Basic Steps to Create and Modify an Image Mask
Mask Controlled Midtone Highlight Sharpening, Background Smoothing, & Star Size Reduction
Mike

#28 rkayakr

rkayakr

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 450
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Northeast Ohio

Posted 07 October 2013 - 09:12 AM

Mike
I would like to ask a specific but common question. I have recently started using a Astronomics CLS filter that gives images a blue-green cast. Can you suggest a good way compensate during the color stretch?
Bob

#29 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 07 October 2013 - 01:32 PM

Thanks Mike for detailed response.

Next question :), 'Multi Point Flatten Background-Planar...' normally follows 'Digital Development'; is 'Multi Point Flatten Background-Planar...' needed when doing 'ArcSinH...'?

#30 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 10 October 2013 - 07:19 AM

Depends on the image Mike. Digital development and ArcsinH are both stretch functions and the only difference is the stretch curve. If your image requires gradient removal then you will need to use multi-point flatten with both DDP and ArcsinH.

Mike

#31 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 10 October 2013 - 07:27 AM

Bob,

I would not use digital development or arcsinh stretch function to deal with the blue-green cast. You could try to restore the color balance before the stretch using the typical levels, curves or pixel math approach.

Mike

#32 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 06 November 2013 - 11:21 PM

Thought I'll post this... here for further discussion; thanks to Scott. Oddly enough, I have version 5.5 and am NOT seeing 11th toolbar button for Feature Mask? Regards

Mike Unsold processed a couple of images from our Yahoo DSLR Astro Image Processing Group Challenges. He shows the complete workflow for Challenge 19 - Veil Nebula as well as Challenge 20 - NGC 6888 HaRGB. This will give you an idea on how it can be used in image processing.

He's still working on the Feature Mask tutorial web page. Here is a quote from the Beta's directions on using the Feature Mask:


INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING THE FEATURE MASK
The feature mask is opened using the 11th toolbar button down from the top on the left vertical toolbar.
The feature mask tool is setup by default to show in black all of the areas of a color or monochrome image that will be removed.

Adjust the star radius and threshold values to maximize detail in the image but also to remove stars or the area marked in black.
The masked area size slider can be used to increase the blacked out area for a given star radius and threshold value.

After you get the blacked out area close to what you want check the Enable Fill box and press apply to fill in the black areas.

You can increase fill radius to make the painted areas darker.

Last adjust the remove small star window size and slider to remove any tiny stars that might remain.
The RGB and R,G,B color mode options can each be run to test and select the best of the two.

RGB color mode removes a pixel if it is effected by the other parameters for red and green and blue.

R,G,B removes a pixel or paints it black before fill is enabled if the pixel is effect in red or green or blue.

After you get the stars removed image correct press the Split Star and Object button to create a star only image that matches.

You can use the object and star image to create masks or process directly as is shown in the CH019 workflow shown below in
** Use the new Merge Split blend mode to merge the processed object and split stars images using the Special Functions |
Combine Images | Using Blend Mode, Opacity, and Mask tool. This is shown in the CH019 workflow.



Its proving to be an extremely useful tool - particularly for pulling out the very faintest of nebulosity in an image.



#33 srosenfraz

srosenfraz

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4138
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2011
  • Loc: United States

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:28 AM

The Feature Mask is new in IP 5.75 (just released). It wasn't implemented in 5.5. IP 5.75 also adds DSLR vertical and horizontal color band and line noise suppression tools.

#34 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 07 November 2013 - 01:41 AM

This comes as a surprise to me; 5.5 was released just recently. Regards

#35 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 07 November 2013 - 06:50 AM

Mike M,

ImagesPlus always has new tools under development. Next week after the release and tutorials of 5.75 are finished I will start working on the next set of new functions.

The DSLR color band and line noise removal tools really remove and not just smear around the color bands and line noise.

I will post tutorials to this thread for the feature mask and band removal tools over the next few days as the tutorials are finished.

Upgrades to the just released version are free if you recently upgraded within 45 days. You recently upgraded.
Email your address and I will send you a 5.75 CD.

Mike

#36 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 12 January 2014 - 06:07 AM

Mike U, following is a quote from another... thread that you never responded on...

Mike U, Joe and I had a phone conversation last night to walk him through the Digital Development process; what we found out was that if he didn’t do an auto stretch as first step before manually adjusting all the sliders, he was able to stretch fine. I am used to doing an auto stretch as first step to have a quick look at the image and then adjusting all the sliders as needed and it has worked very well for me.

Problem Description: Core of the issue was break-point highlights; we were using the same source file (linked in my previous post) and running the steps together at each end; when I did the auto stretch my break-point highlights would be around 2500, when he would do the same, his would get pegged at 65,000; if he tried adjusting back to say 1500 after auto stretching, it would distort the image badly. Only difference is that he is using IP 5.75 on a Win8x64 and I am using IP 5.75 on Win7x64; I am not sure if this is some kind of bug we might have discovered with IP 5.75 and Win8 and how auto stretching handles break-point highlights?

Workaround: Work around we found is if he manually adjusts break-point highlights slider and avoids auto as a preliminary stretch he is fine (strange part is I can’t replicate this behavior on my Win7 platform using the exact same data and same IP version).

My take is whether one uses auto stretch or not as preliminary step [to me it is more of a convenience and I like it to preview the image that way], final break-point highlights one ends up using ‘should’ make the end result look the same and this is not happening for Joe (but works for me). Regards


Now I have myself discovered another issue with Digital Development where 'Scale Function' either doesn't work or takes a long time to become active/available. I am running Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 and IP 5.75. Regards

Attached Files



#37 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 13 January 2014 - 07:01 AM

Mike M.

The digital development scale function will only become available if you select something other than None in the Scale drop down list box. It is up to you to enable the scale function by selecting Linear, Nth root, or Nth Power in the Scale drop down list box. None is the default selection in the Scale drop down list a means no scale function is used.

Also I can't reproduce any problem with Auto other than I have never much liked the parameters that Auto sets. No problem adjusting auto set break-point or background weight into values that do produce a stretch that I like.

I get the same results on XP, XP x64, Vista, Win 7, Win 8, and Win 8.1 x64

Mike

Mike

[quote name="mmalik"]Mike U, Joe and I had a phone conversation last night to walk him through the Digital Development process; what we found out was that if he didn’t do an auto stretch as first step before manually adjusting all the sliders, he was able to stretch fine. I am used to doing an auto stretch as first step to have a quick look at the image and then adjusting all the sliders as needed and it has worked very well for me.

Problem Description: Core of the issue was break-point highlights; we were using the same source file (linked in my previous post) and running the steps together at each end; when I did the auto stretch my break-point highlights would be around 2500, when he would do the same, his would get pegged at 65,000; if he tried adjusting back to say 1500 after auto stretching, it would distort the image badly. Only difference is that he is using IP 5.75 on a Win8x64 and I am using IP 5.75 on Win7x64; I am not sure if this is some kind of bug we might have discovered with IP 5.75 and Win8 and how auto stretching handles break-point highlights?

Workaround: Work around we found is if he manually adjusts break-point highlights slider and avoids auto as a preliminary stretch he is fine (strange part is I can’t replicate this behavior on my Win7 platform using the exact same data and same IP version).

My take is whether one uses auto stretch or not as preliminary step [to me it is more of a convenience and I like it to preview the image that way], final break-point highlights one ends up using ‘should’ make the end result look the same and this is not happening for Joe (but works for me). Regards[/quote]

Now I have myself discovered another issue with Digital Development where 'Scale Function' either doesn't work or takes a long time to become active/available. I am running Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 and IP 5.75. Regards [/quote]

#38 Joe Eiers

Joe Eiers

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2011
  • Loc: Sacramento, Ca.

Posted 13 January 2014 - 09:24 PM

I'm thrilled there's a discussion with images plus. I LOVE. this program but have an extraordinarily hard time figuring out how to use it even with the tutorials. I really need step by step procedures like mmalik has in his superb document.
There's lots of documentation but IP really needs more basic step by step details to be accessible for the likes of folks like me.
Once I get further down the learning curve I'll contribute to making it easier for us slow starters.
I'm not knocking IP, I love it! I think of it as jewels in a box I don't have the combo to get in.
Joe

#39 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 14 January 2014 - 03:13 AM

The digital development scale function will only become available if you select something other than None in the Scale drop down list box. It is up to you to enable the scale function by selecting Linear, Nth root, or Nth Power in the Scale drop down list box. None is the default selection in the Scale drop down list a means no scale function is used.

Also I can't reproduce any problem with Auto other than I have never much liked the parameters that Auto sets. No problem adjusting auto set break-point or background weight into values that do produce a stretch that I like.

I get the same results on XP, XP x64, Vista, Win 7, Win 8, and Win 8.1 x64


Mike U, you are not understanding the problem/s; I am adjusting 'DDP Stretch' parameters first but 'Scale Function' drop down doesn't become available for quite some time for me to select any of the scale functions (Linear or nths). This definitely a bug of some sort; please look into it as it is affecting core piece of the software. Regards

#40 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 14 January 2014 - 11:33 PM

I'm thrilled there's a discussion with images plus. I LOVE. this program but have an extraordinarily hard time figuring out how to use it even with the tutorials. I really need step by step procedures like mmalik has in his superb document.
There's lots of documentation but IP really needs more basic step by step details to be accessible for the likes of folks like me.
Once I get further down the learning curve I'll contribute to making it easier for us slow starters.
I'm not knocking IP, I love it! I think of it as jewels in a box I don't have the combo to get in.
Joe


Joe,

The DSLR_ASTRO_IMAGE_PROCESSING group is a very good place to learn how to process images and learn how to use ImagesPlus. Currently there are 22 different sets of images that you can download, process, and post your result along with questions. Detailed workflows are also posted. You can compare your results with those from other using many different image processing apps. Each month there is a new image to process. Here is an example of the ImagesPlus workflow for the last few months. If more detailed is need on any step then questions can be posted on the DSLR_ASTRO_IMAGE_PROCESS group.


http://mlunsold.com/...h019/ch019.html

http://mlunsold.com/...h020/ch020.html

http://mlunsold.com/...h021/ch021.html

In a few days I will post the ImagesPlus workflow for the
January 2014 image of C022 - IC 1805 Heart Nebula.

I also very often process images from members of the ImagesPlus Yahoo group and post very detailed workflows with screen shots.

Mike

#41 Mike Unsold

Mike Unsold

    Vendor, MLUnsold - ImagesPlus

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 21 May 2009

Posted 15 January 2014 - 12:06 AM

The digital development scale function will only become available if you select something other than None in the Scale drop down list box. It is up to you to enable the scale function by selecting Linear, Nth root, or Nth Power in the Scale drop down list box. None is the default selection in the Scale drop down list a means no scale function is used.

Also I can't reproduce any problem with Auto other than I have never much liked the parameters that Auto sets. No problem adjusting auto set break-point or background weight into values that do produce a stretch that I like.

I get the same results on XP, XP x64, Vista, Win 7, Win 8, and Win 8.1 x64


Mike U, you are not understanding the problem/s; I am adjusting 'DDP Stretch' parameters first but 'Scale Function' drop down doesn't become available for quite some time for me to select any of the scale functions (Linear or nths). This definitely a bug of some sort; please look into it as it is affecting core piece of the software. Regards


Mike M.

On Win 8.1 x64 with IP 5.75 x64 the DDP scale function is enabled and available for use by selecting something other than None in the drop down list box right from the time that you open DDP. You can use the Scale function before or after you adjust other DDP parameters. I also prefer to adjust the DDP stretch parameters first and have no trouble selecting and using the Scale function at any time.

You might find it helpful to post your DDP scale function issue on the ImagesPlus Yahoo group.

Mike

#42 mmalik

mmalik

    DSLR camera modifications

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5402
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2012
  • Loc: USA

Posted 15 January 2014 - 01:22 AM

Mike U, you very well know, and I have said this before..., I am not a fan of Yahoo groups, and would rather have the discussion here at CN. Regards

#43 Joe Eiers

Joe Eiers

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2011
  • Loc: Sacramento, Ca.

Posted 15 January 2014 - 02:25 AM

I so agree... I have used Yahoo groups for countless years and it's still just as clunky and a pain to communicate with folks....
CN is so much better for collaboration. I feel if we had the same IP presence here as PIX it would increase the usability dramatically!
Joe






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics