Fun With Registax/NexImage5!

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Crow Haven

Crow Haven

Apollo

• Loc: Oregon USA

Posted 10 June 2013 - 07:04 PM

This doesn't fit in the regular imaging forums so I'll post it here. I received a NexImage5 planetary camera today and wanted to just check out it's functions and experiment also with the included video processing software included - Registax6 - which I've never used before. I stuck the webcam on the ST80 achro and aimed it in all its CA purpleness through a window at some fir trees waving in the 20 mph wind. Good news is the camera works great and so does the software! Since I didn't have an astro subject to use for testing I sort of created one as I discovered some interesting effects can be had using Registax on 10 frames of waving tree branches. Using it's stacking and wavelets I got an image looking like a loose chalk drawing which I then added a drawn-in crow, moon, and star to. :D It may not be "art" or astro-imaging but it was fun!
---Maya

Attached Files

#2 rick rian  Happy Birthday!

rick rian

Seeker of Truth(s)

• Loc: Upper Mid West

Posted 14 July 2013 - 09:36 PM

I like the image, Maya, it could be an illustration for a children's book - "The Raven and the Moon" maybe? :)

#3 Crow Haven

Crow Haven

Apollo

• Loc: Oregon USA

Posted 15 July 2013 - 09:16 PM

:grin: Thanks Rick!
The Pacific NW tribes have many legends of Raven. There's one in which Raven brings the Moon and stars to the sky. :grin:

Ravens and crows always fascinate me. There are several near my observatory and I enjoy their flying acrobatics and antics.