Jump to content


Photo

CGE mount upgrade

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3239
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:20 PM

Did You upgrade Your CGE mount with Marty cables, or Gary Bennett's kits, or did You perform the Hypertune service?
Which upgrade did You go for... and how did it turn out?

RA-DEC Cable Replacement Kit
and/or
Hand Controller / AUX1 / AUX2 (GPS)
and/or
PC Port / Guide Port / Power Supply

:question:

#2 Alph

Alph

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1759
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Melmac

Posted 16 June 2013 - 01:01 PM

Did You upgrade Your CGE mount with Marty cables, or Gary Bennett's kits, or did You perform the Hypertune service?
Which upgrade did You go for... and how did it turn out?

RA-DEC Cable Replacement Kit
and/or
Hand Controller / AUX1 / AUX2 (GPS)
and/or
PC Port / Guide Port / Power Supply

:question:

What are you up to? Can you be more specific? I made quite a few changes/upgrades to my CGE. I am too lazy though to list them all. The cables are the easiest to fix for next to nothing. The worm/worm gear upgrade did not turn out well and I had to revert to the original gears.

#3 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 16 June 2013 - 03:29 PM

I took mine completely apart and re-greased everything. Its much smoother now. My only issue were the unfixable stuff. I find both ring gears to be really non concentric. (Gear mesh really tight at one point, and quite loose 180 degrees out.) Have you guy's seen the same?

#4 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 10891
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:02 PM

Cables only at this point. Initially used the Marty cables, and only had two runaways in 3 years. Did Gary's RA/DEC cable upgrade as extra insurance two years ago when my CGE was pier mounted. The mount has been absolutely solid since.

Power has always been from a Pyramid -9KX (13.8v 5amp).

Considering a cleaning, re lube, adjustment, and rebuild session this winter.

Good rebuild instructions are now posted on the Yahoo CGE-TelescopesUNCENSORED group.

#5 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3239
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:02 AM

@ Alph ... I'm looking to purchase a CGE mount :winky:

So I'll have to look for a mount which has at least the RA/DEC upgrade:
http://www.bendun.ne...GRADE-KITS.html

:p






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics