• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 ShaneOS

ShaneOS

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Kansas City, MO

Posted 18 June 2013 - 04:58 PM

I recently ordered a Celestron 8" EdgeHD with VX mount. I am brand new to astronomy, so I need some guidance on eyepiece selections. The scope comes with a 40mm eyepiece. The scope's focal length is 2032mm, for reference.

I have browsed several threads on eyepieces, but the options are overwhelming. Please recommend a decent medium power EP and high power EP. I will use the 40mm that comes with the scope for my low power EP until I "need" a better one. My budget is around $150 per eyepiece unless you can justify a more expensive one.

#2 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Apollo

• -----

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:30 PM

A couple things that would help us help you, because, like you say, the options are overwhelming. Do you wear glasses? Do you plan to observe from the city or a dark sky site? What is the most you would consider spending on an eyepiece? Explore scientific are popular. A lot of people feel they have the best bang for the buck. But they will not accommodate eyeglasses well and their $100-200 price tag may be more than what you can afford.

#3 Pharquart

Pharquart

Ranger 4

• Loc: Southwest Minneapolis Metro

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:58 PM

Wow! Asking for an eyepiece recommendation is like walking into a wine bar and asking people what's a good wine. You're setting yourself up for a long list of wildly different and sometimes contradictory opinions. It's why eyepiece research is overwhelming.

So rather than give specific recommendations, I'll provide more general info. First comes focal length: