Jump to content


Photo

Downloading new VMA

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rtomw77

rtomw77

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004
  • Loc: Deer Valley, AZ

Posted 20 June 2013 - 09:39 AM

I just got a new Dell desktop computer with Windows 7, and I am in the process of installing the latest version of Virtual Moon Atlas.

So far I have downloaded VMA 6.0 and the 6.1 update, but there are multiple choices for further updates.

I could just go down the list and get everything, but I don't want to inadvertently set the stage for future conflicts among different data sets from as LRO WAC, Chang-e, Clementine, and Lunar Orbiter data. There are also multiple picture sets available and other goodies.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a visual only observer like me? This new computer has almost 2 TB of high speed memory, so that's no problem.

Thanks,

Tom

#2 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15764
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:18 AM

You'll probably find the 155mb LRO texture to be enough. That and some of the atlas/picture packages like Consolidated Lunar Atlas and the LAC and you will be good to go.

#3 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3776
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 20 June 2013 - 05:06 PM

Didn't know there was an update. Thanks.

Like Ron mentions, just do the basic with one set of high resolution for now. You can always add features later if you find the basic program isn't giving you enough...BTW, adding can be done within the program itself.

#4 rtomw77

rtomw77

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004
  • Loc: Deer Valley, AZ

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:25 AM

Thanks for the replies. All of the VMA options make it unclear what is actually needed.

Tom

#5 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3776
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 21 June 2013 - 11:53 AM

Just a FWIW. Usually don't bother, but since I loaded the 6.1 revision figured I would enable ASCOM control of my mount, told the program which crater was dead center in the FoV using a cross hair EP, and then had an enjoyable 1/2 hour or so clicking Luna Features (and the scope went there). It even compensated for the slightly different Lunar rate.

#6 rtomw77

rtomw77

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004
  • Loc: Deer Valley, AZ

Posted 21 June 2013 - 12:07 PM

Tom and Beth

Do you mind telling us what scope and mount you were using the VMA controls with?

Tom

#7 Tom and Beth

Tom and Beth

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3776
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2007
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 21 June 2013 - 05:07 PM

Sure. I was using a TEC MC250/12 on an AP1200.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics