12 replies to this topic

#1 steve girard

steve girard

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ardmore, OK

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:39 PM

Hi Everyone
I’m no optical engineer but I do have some common sense (I think). I have a 10” LX200GPS mounted on a pier in my observatory. I noticed early on that when I use a focal reducer to widen my field I of course get some vegnetting. This did not bother me except when I would focus I noticed the stars in the upper left and lower left would not focus the same place and the rest of the field (coma maybe?). It also caught my attention the flat field appeared not to be centered in the camera frame. That is to say the lighter center was not in the center and the darker corners were larger in the upper left and lower left than on the other side. I was using a DSI Pro at the time and did not think about it because I assumed the chip my not have been center correctly in the camera. Then I updated cameras to a SBig ST2000XM and found the same problem. I check collimation several times and found it OK. I have rotated the camera around to different positions and the problem stays orientated to the scope and not moving with the camera. I feel the main mirror in not aligned properly with the rear cell but don’t know how to prove it or what to do about it if it is.
Does anyone know what I am talking about and what I can do about it. It is not a deal breaker but is bothers me because I know something is not right.
Thanks
Steve

#2 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

Apollo

• ***--
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 20 June 2013 - 03:30 PM

You wouldn't be using a diagonal when you collimate, would you? If so, try it using a visual back...

#3 steve girard

steve girard

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 20 June 2013 - 04:42 PM

Hi Cliff