Help me pick a guiding package

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 bayleyjordan

bayleyjordan

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:23 PM

I have been imaging for several months now on an AVX mount with an 8" SCT, unguided. From everything I read on these forums, many of you say unguided imaging isn't worth it. I wanted to really get a good feel for my mount and it's capabilities before starting to guide, and have improved my alignment techniques enough so that I am regularly getting round stars on 2 - 2.5 minute exposures, and have been pretty pleased with the results.

However, I feel like I am getting close to maxing out my abilities without guiding, and would like to take the plunge. I'm prepared to do my own research, but figured I would ask on here first, what are my best, affordable options for guiding with my current setup? 50mm guidescope and SSAG? Would I need a focal reducer with that setup? or should i go 80mm guidescope?

I would just like a quick rundown of what equipment you think I should be looking at so I can do my research and get a good setup. Thanks in advance!

#2 bayleyjordan

bayleyjordan

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:25 PM

Oh and if this is in the wrong forum, let me know, I just saw the "Equipment" forum. Thanks!

#3 bouffetout

bouffetout

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:43 PM

I have a 8SE on a HEQ5 mount. When doing astrophotography ,we should put on our mount about 50% of the maximum payload.