Jump to content


Photo

They arrived - with ST4. (ASI cameras that is)

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 27 June 2013 - 06:23 PM

Sorry these were quick iPhone pics, but you get the idea.

Posted Image

Posted Image

I'll be testing it as an autoguider tonight, if the weather holds, and I will report back. If I can finish dialing in my collimation on the two SCTs, I'll try to get a quick run on Saturn or something.

#2 SGT500

SGT500

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Sarasota, Florida

Posted 27 June 2013 - 07:28 PM

Looks Sweet!!! good luck with them, looking forward to first light report

#3 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 27 June 2013 - 07:29 PM

You got it! Just don't laugh too hard. I haven't messed with any planetary imaging in about 2 years or so. Might be "slightly" rusty.

:grin:

#4 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 27 June 2013 - 11:35 PM

FYI - I'm autoguiding with the color cam right now, facing into the strongest LP direction (I'm in a red zone right now) and pointed at a dim part of sky (M106) and it's picking up guide stars easily and taking care of business. The camera is unfiltered. I'm running 1 sec exposures in PHD - 50% gain.

#5 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 27 June 2013 - 11:37 PM

That's fantastic news! What camera did you select in PHD?

#6 JoseBorrero

JoseBorrero

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2009
  • Loc: Puerto Rico Island

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:26 PM

ST4? that can't be more sweeter! :waytogo:

#7 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:00 AM

That's fantastic news! What camera did you select in PHD?


Windows WDM-style webcam camera, full resolution.

#8 zAmbonii

zAmbonii

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2420
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Ypsilanti, MI

Posted 29 June 2013 - 12:39 PM

It has been a while, but when I tried to use my 120MC with PHD Guiding a couple of months ago, The screen would stop updating when calibrating. Does this happen with the new version of the ASI cameras?

#9 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 29 June 2013 - 03:36 PM

I ran it as an autoguider for a few hours without issue. Since I was dialing in the new mount, I stopped and recalibrated frequently as I changed up settings. Never a hiccup.

I did have tremendous problems with Firecapture when trying to shoot the moon. I never got one full acquisition without it crashing, and that was on the most current version. Sharpcap worked great, however.

#10 wenjha

wenjha

    Vendor

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 733
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: SuZhou China

Posted 30 June 2013 - 02:25 AM

that's really fast review :)
@zAmbonii you can try to install the latest driver which should fixed the freeze problem.
@Josh do you use the latest FC2.3 build#11?Its very stable from my exprience

#11 RedLionNJ

RedLionNJ

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 893
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Red Lion, NJ, USA

Posted 30 June 2013 - 11:18 AM

Echoing Sam's comments - I've been using my ASI120MC for autoguiding (via PHD and a GPUSB) for months - very sensitive, works like a charm.

I've also experienced no issues with the latest verion of FireCapture (2.3-whatever-subversion-it-autoupdated-to-last-time-I-used-it - either 10 or 12?)

Grant

#12 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 01 July 2013 - 08:25 PM

that's really fast review :)
@zAmbonii you can try to install the latest driver which should fixed the freeze problem.
@Josh do you use the latest FC2.3 build#11?Its very stable from my exprience


Sam,

If I buy one off your web site (www.zwoptical.com) will I automatically get the one with the ST4 port?

Thank you

Guylain

#13 wenjha

wenjha

    Vendor

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 733
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: SuZhou China

Posted 02 July 2013 - 12:47 AM

Yes, New ASI120 cameras all comes with a ST4 port

#14 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 02 July 2013 - 02:42 PM

Yes, New ASI120 cameras all comes with a ST4 port


Thank you Sam.

Guylain

#15 cruling

cruling

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Jersey City, NJ

Posted 02 July 2013 - 06:26 PM

already got mine yesterday, the new ASI120MM with ST4 port, can't wait to see the first light, but the weather is no good recently.
very fast shipping form Sam, only took 3 days to NJ.

#16 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:54 PM

I have no doubt great things will come out of this camera for me. I've tried various "entry" level planetary imagers in the past, and was never truly satisfied with the results. A quick crack at the moon turned out fantastic, despite high winds and low angle.

Right now I'm in the process of gutting and rebuilding my CGEM DX from ground, up and making modifications. I'll follow up with something more comprehensive when I'm up and running again, hopefully in a couple days.

I was really happy with the initial results as an autoguider. But I really want to run it on the moon in better conditions as it returns this cycle. I'm only using a C8 for now. I suspect this will be fantastic when I step it up to a C11 next year after building the Obs.


Sam,

I was using the current revision, it still crashes, all java related it would seem (yes, I am fully patched and updated.) This is on an extremely loaded laptop, AV turned off.

#17 moxican

moxican

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 268
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Toronto, ON

Posted 07 July 2013 - 02:08 PM

If I knew that there will be a new ASI coming with ST4 port I'd have waited that 5-6 weeks before I order mine. I just missed the new one. Oh well...

#18 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:51 AM

Yes, New ASI120 cameras all comes with a ST4 port


Sam,

I'd like to purchase a ASI120MM + the clear window for and additional $20. However, I can not purchase them in 1 transaction on your website. Do I need to do 2 transactions? One for the camera and one the the clear window?

Guylain

#19 zAmbonii

zAmbonii

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2420
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Ypsilanti, MI

Posted 08 July 2013 - 02:41 PM

The 120MM will already come with a clear filter. You don't need to order one separately!

Those filters are mainly for the early buyers of the camera that got a clear or UV/IR filter that screwed into the end of the nosepiece.

I think Sam should update that picture that is "What's included in the box". There is no mention of the widefield lens and the clear or UV/IR cut filter on it and it may be confusing people.

#20 wenjha

wenjha

    Vendor

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 733
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: SuZhou China

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:21 PM

@guyroch
Z is correct. the filter is included in the new camera.
if you want to have another one, then you can put 2 transactions.
@zAmbonii
thanks, I will make it more clear

#21 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:58 PM

Thank you Sam & Z :)

I just placed the order for a ASI120MM :)

Thank you.

Guylain

#22 tybee

tybee

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 310
  • Joined: 02 May 2006
  • Loc: Douglasville, GA

Posted 10 July 2013 - 09:39 AM

This is a nice looking camera! Has anyone used it with Linux?

#23 rkayakr

rkayakr

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 453
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Northeast Ohio

Posted 11 July 2013 - 02:45 PM

Ordered an ASI120MC on Monday, got it on Wednesday (NE Ohio). Looking forward to clear skies to try it out.

#24 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 11 July 2013 - 03:18 PM

Ordered mine on Monday too, DHL says it's out for delivery so I may have a gift when I get home tonight... to tomorrow :)

Guylain

#25 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 14 July 2013 - 07:55 PM

Guylain, did you get yours? Any test runs yet?






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics