Jump to content


Photo

EZPlanetary and QHY5L-II Question

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff2011

Jeff2011

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Sugar Land, TX

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:47 AM

I bought my QHY5L-II mono primarily as an autoguider, but love its ability to double as a good planetary imager. So far I have used the EZPlanetary software that comes with the camera to capture the frames and generate AVIs.

Since I am all into multi-functional, is it possible to get the QHY5L-II to take long exposure snapshots? I tried to do this with EZPlanetary but was unsuccessful. I have not been able to find any decent documentation for this capture program. Are there other capture programs out there that can do this with the QHY5L-II if EZPlanetary can't?

I apologize if my question is a little off topic, since I am interested in taking the longer exposure snapshots with it for DSO objects. However, since it involves using planetary capture software, I figured this would be the best forum to ask my question on.

#2 RedLionNJ

RedLionNJ

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 893
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Red Lion, NJ, USA

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:26 AM

I believe FireCapture v2.3 has the capability of running the QHY series, but there are some outstanding issues regarding the QHY driver which Torsten (FireCapture owner) is awaiting resolution for.

CS,
Grant

#3 smitty0

smitty0

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012

Posted 28 June 2013 - 01:49 PM

Yes, in EZPlanetary chose 'Camera Setup' -> 'Camera Advanced Setting' -> 'Long Exposure mode', then chose exposure time with left slider (in sec).

#4 Jeff2011

Jeff2011

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Sugar Land, TX

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:28 PM

Smitty,

I had tried that already. It seemed to ignore the seconds setting that I chose because when I pressed the Snap button, it created a Tif file immediately.

Grant,

Thanks for the heads up on FireCapture. I will look into that.

#5 smitty0

smitty0

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:38 PM

For video select ".fits", select long exposure (5 sec for example), and press capture video.

#6 fbzolt

fbzolt

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2013
  • Loc: Edgewood, NM

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:45 PM

I use Nebulosity 3.0 for long exposures on the QHY5L-II. I've had no problems with the exposure times or lockups and it allows for sequences of exposures.

Frank Z...

#7 Jeff2011

Jeff2011

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Sugar Land, TX

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:54 PM

For video select ".fits", select long exposure (5 sec for example), and press capture video.


Smitty,

I think that was the piece that I was missing. I had thought to try the Video button instead of the Snap button, but I forgot to change the video format from AVI :foreheadslap:

I will give that a try next time I get a chance. Right now I am just playing around to see what it will do. If I get serious with it I will probably get a more sofisticated capture program like FireCapture or Nebulosity.

Thanks everyone for your help and suggestions. I knew this was the right forum to post my question to.

#8 stelios_STI

stelios_STI

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Greece

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:37 PM

I use Nebulosity 3.0 for long exposures on the QHY5L-II. I've had no problems with the exposure times or lockups and it allows for sequences of exposures.

Frank Z...

Frank, in neb3 when you connect the camera you check the 12bit mode? I try with neb3 too but I get a very noisy image. .....

#9 fbzolt

fbzolt

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2013
  • Loc: Edgewood, NM

Posted 30 June 2013 - 02:18 PM

I do check the 12 bit box in ASCOM driver, but since the camera is not cooled I have to take a series of dark frames with each sequence. Around here (NM) the temps can drop quite a bit during the night, so sets of unique darks are important for this camera with long exposures. I use Deep Sky Stacker to stack the frames and subtract the darks. Right now I'm just doing some testing to get the feel of some image processing while getting ready to get a cooled long exposure CCD camera. I'll post some of the longer exposure stuff in other forums.

Frank Z...

#10 Jeff2011

Jeff2011

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Sugar Land, TX

Posted 01 July 2013 - 08:32 AM

Ok, I changed the video format to fits and that worked. Thanks Smitty.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics