• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Matthew Ota

Matthew Ota

Hmmm

• -----
  • Loc: Los Angeles, California

Posted 29 June 2013 - 12:40 PM

I have been using the same regular size and mini lens pen since 1998. Do They have a shelf life limit or can I go on using them indefinitely?

#2 Doc Willie

Doc Willie

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Mid-Hudson Valley, NY, USA

Posted 29 June 2013 - 02:14 PM

I would think they accumulate a certain amount of crud in them after a while. How long? Who knows? I get a new one every year.

#3 mikey cee

mikey cee

Cosmos

• Loc: bellevue ne.

Posted 29 June 2013 - 04:51 PM

I've used mine equally that long. But I do have new ones. The sponge inside has enough black graphite to handle quite a bit of so called gunk. My eyepiece lenses put under a magnifier show no fine scraches either. I endorse their usage. ;) Mike

#4 johnnyha

johnnyha

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Sherman Oaks, CA

Posted 29 June 2013 - 04:59 PM

I use a brand new lens pen to clean my bino prisms which is only once every few years really, and to clean the edges of the objective on my FS152 which I clean about twice a year or less.

I believe a scratch in the coating of an 11T6 eyepiece I once owned was caused by a used lens pen.

#5 rmollise

rmollise

Hubble

Posted 29 June 2013 - 05:01 PM

I've used mine for years, never had a problem, a scratch, etc. I am always careful to dust off the surface carefully with canned air, and the brush before using the cleaning tip, however. Since, in real terms, they are used very infrequently, they will last a long, long time. My experience is that the cleaning tip comes off long before there's a problem with dirt, running out of the cleaning stuff, etc.

#6 tim57064

tim57064

Apollo

• Loc: Southeast South Dakota,USA

Posted 30 June 2013 - 12:29 PM