Photo

2" EPs in Meade LX-90 SCT 8"

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 flygal6

flygal6

Lift Off

Posted 06 July 2013 - 04:22 PM

May I ask a stupid question....I am still new to all this and figuring out all the parts and configurations. If I wanted to use 2" EPs vs 1.25" EPs do I just change out the diagonal to a 2" one? Does this need some type of reducer/adapter to fit in the visual back, or do you remove the present visual back? Please tell me what specific parts I need. I have found what they call a hybrid diagonal for 1.25" to the smaller .965"(?) but not for going up the other way to 2". Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

Carol

#2 Bill Barlow

Bill Barlow

Vanguard

• Loc: Overland Park KS

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:05 PM

Hi Carol,

In your LX-90 8"SCT, then you can either buy a genericSCT 2"/1.25" diagonal combination that will thread onto the rear cell or a Meade 2"/1.25" diagonal that has a rear cell adapter that can screw onto the rear cell, then use it's thumb screws to attach the 2"/1.25" diagonal. Then you can use both 2" and 1.25" eyepiece's in either scope. Hope this helps.

#3 flygal6

flygal6

Lift Off

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:10 PM

Thanks Bill that helps a lot of what to start looking for.

#4 ratskrad

ratskrad

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Heber Utah

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:20 PM