Jump to content


Photo

Question; Is a AP 1200 a portable mount or not?

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 kbastro

kbastro

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 876
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Running from Clouds

Posted 12 July 2013 - 09:28 AM

I'm not a weakling :lol: but seriously,, I have a chance to purchase a used one at a very good price with very low usage and I was wondering if a ap1200 with a 40" pier is an mount that one can setup in the field with out too much hassle.
btw my one of my ota's weighs in at 43lbs and I have no trouble lifting that and placing it in its dovetail

kb

#2 Calypte

Calypte

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1079
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Anza, California

Posted 12 July 2013 - 10:07 AM

You'll get numerous knowledgeable responses in the ap-gto forum.

#3 WadeH237

WadeH237

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1338
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Snohomish, WA

Posted 12 July 2013 - 10:31 AM

What is your definition of portable?

I got on AP's list for the AP1200 just before it was discontinued. I ended up getting an AP1600 (and couldn't be happier with it).

My general usage pattern is that I travel to dark sky sites each new moon over the summer months. When I head out, I usually set up for 5 to 10 nights before coming home. When I'm at home, I leave the mount set up for extended periods and use a Telegizmos 365 cover. I'm planning to build an observatory this fall.

For this use, the AP1200 would work fine. I believe that the largest single piece is the RA assembly at 50lb. I've set up my CGE in the field for over 10 years, and it's head is 50lb.

I will say, though, that I would not want to set it up for a single night of use. And I would not consider it appropriate in a situation where it needed to be moved in and out of the house each night.

If you could wait a bit, AP is getting ready to release the 1100. The specs on that thing are incredible. It's capacity is 110 lb, so not much less than the 1200. And the heaviest part is only 25 lb.

I hope that this helps,
-Wade

#4 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15361
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 12 July 2013 - 11:16 AM

I'm not a weakling :lol: but seriously,, I have a chance to purchase a used one at a very good price with very low usage and I was wondering if a ap1200 with a 40" pier is an mount that one can setup in the field with out too much hassle.
btw my one of my ota's weighs in at 43lbs and I have no trouble lifting that and placing it in its dovetail

kb


Do you think a C14 is a portable telescope? If so, "yes." :lol:

#5 WesC

WesC

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2006
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Loc: La Crescenta, CA

Posted 12 July 2013 - 06:37 PM

This is why I am waiting for the AP1100... I think that will do everything I want and I won't break my back setting it up each night.

#6 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 12 July 2013 - 07:53 PM

KB,

That is what I use with my AGO and it is portable and the least I would consider with my 12". You can never have too much mount. If the price is good you will never regret having it.

You may want to shorten the pier but that is easy to do.

I use my 1200 at WSP with a small Tak Epsilon 160. Let the wind blow all it wants, I don't notice it :)

Dean

#7 kbastro

kbastro

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 876
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Running from Clouds

Posted 12 July 2013 - 08:07 PM

I have a Titan mount that holds 110lbs so the 1100 is not helping or upgrading me,, and the titan mount breaks down into 2 -36.5lbs pieces + counter weights ~50lbs worth and counter weight shaft and the big HD tripod which weighs 60lbs,,,

Soooo what I'm trying to get at is that the titan already weighs a lot and the ap1200 weighs more but not a heck of a lot,,, but the capacity of the 1200 is 200lbs double what the titan or 1100 can handle.

what about getting rid of pier and replacing it was the ATS style tripod???

kb

#8 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 12 July 2013 - 08:14 PM

I know the APS is nice, but I have a hard time spending that kind of $$$ on a pier.

#9 Felix Luciano

Felix Luciano

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2006
  • Loc: GA, USA

Posted 12 July 2013 - 08:28 PM

kb,

I use an AP 1200 on an ATS 42” portable pier / tripod. For me is a complete set up / take down each imaging session. Love that mount / ATS combination. If memory serves me right the AP 1200 specs indicate a mount capacity of 140 lbs.

Good luck - Felix

#10 kbastro

kbastro

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 876
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Running from Clouds

Posted 12 July 2013 - 08:33 PM

well I can get an adapter and use the titan's tripod,,,, as that one is rated to hold 425lbs,,,, since lifting it weighs about that much :lol:

well i'm off to the stars,,, as it is gonna be a nice clear night and I see millions of photons just waiting to be captured!!!!

kb

#11 kbastro

kbastro

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 876
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Running from Clouds

Posted 12 July 2013 - 08:39 PM

but what the heck,,, spending this kind of $$$ on a high end mounts,,, what's a few $1000 more gonna change???
thanks! all

deep dark sky here we come!!!

#12 PGW Steve

PGW Steve

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1341
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Winnipeg, Canada

Posted 12 July 2013 - 11:14 PM

Considering you've seen my drag my 1200 and 14" out with you a few times, should answer your question to portability.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics