Classic Astronomers

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 youngamateur42

youngamateur42

Surveyor 1

• Loc: La Verne, CA

Posted 17 July 2013 - 02:28 AM

Simple astronomy is quickly fading away, without the steady flow of young people like myself. Astrophotography is a large part of amateur astronomy now, but I thought one day that some people "rent" a telescope hundreds of miles away for a few hours waiting for some image to pop up on their computer screen. Maybe this is an enjoyable activity, but it's nothing like being out in the fresh air on a clear night, enjoying the night sky, the simplicity is what draws me to sketching, taking notes, and making it a time to relax from a busy day. Anybody else still enjoy astronomy the way I do?

#2 FJA

FJA

Sketcher Extraordinaire

• Loc: 50.65° N, 1.15° W

Posted 17 July 2013 - 03:01 AM

I do, very much and I think a lot of others do too, quite probably the 'silent majority'. I've been doing astronomy for 21 years now, mostly deep sky observing, and just the simple way, scope, notebook and pens. :)
It's good to see young guys like yourself into astronomy. Have any of your friends shown an interest in it?

#3 FoggyEyes

FoggyEyes

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Columbus, Ohio

Posted 17 July 2013 - 06:39 AM

I enjoy being out at night, on one of the few nights when the sky is clear. I bring my radio out to listen to a baseball game and time flies. Very pleasant. But, different people are wired differently, so other things will appeal to them. What the heck, there is room for everybody.

#4 Illinois

Illinois

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: near Dixon, Illinois USA

Posted 17 July 2013 - 07:39 AM

I like simple and enjoy astronomy! Look at stars for a few hours, look at Moon and planets!

#5 Kraus

Kraus

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Georgia.

Posted 17 July 2013 - 07:51 AM

Another joy of observing in the night air is the sweltering heat. Last night by ten o'clock, everything was wet.