Photo

Need some new eyepieces. Recommendations?

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 HughM

HughM

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 19 July 2013 - 10:26 AM

I'm brand new to astronomy. I got my first telescope in June and have it all set up and works fine. Apart from the images I get are dreadful. I have a reflector type telescope with a diameter of 76mm and a focal length on 700mm. From previous calculations it had a good focal ratio. I'm aware that telescopes can only be good if the eyepieces are good. I got some rubbish uncoated lens consisting of a H20, H12.5, H6 and a SR4. To be fair the H20 and 12.5 ain't that bad. Get a good field of view but a few optical aberrations and is hard to make out clear details. Any higher magnification and I can't see anything really. The resolution on the image is so poor. Mainly due to reflection I presumed from the image as it was in the eyepiece but very bright. Just wanted peoples recommendations on the best type of eyepieces. Done a bit of research and was looking into getting some plossl. They are a reasonable price and have good a spec. But just wanted some more professional advice before actually going out and getting some new ones.

Thanks

#2 AngryHandyman

AngryHandyman

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Nanaimo, BC

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:49 PM

What are your spending limits? There are good options at any level. Under $50 check out Agena 66 degree Enhanced Wide Angle, I have these a find them a good way to start exploring wider views with comfortable eye relief. If you can go higher there are a lot of options that will do well in the $100 and under range such as ES 82 degree eyepieces. You can keep going up in price but those are outside my experience!

#3 HughM

HughM

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:59 PM

Ok. Thanks. My budget is around £50 which is about $75. So between $75-100 really.

#4 csrlice12

csrlice12

Voyager 1

• Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 19 July 2013 - 03:20 PM