Jump to content


Photo

Locked up Asus Aspire One 722

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86118
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 29 July 2013 - 09:45 AM

Beginning last evening, when I would start up the 722, it would start downloading updates. This resulted in freezing everything. I cannot shut it off, no keys work; and the updates are stuck.

How can I shut it down?

#2 Cliff Hipsher

Cliff Hipsher

    Apollo

  • ***--
  • Posts: 1147
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008
  • Loc: North Chesterfield, VA

Posted 29 July 2013 - 10:18 AM

Disconnect the AC to DC adapter and then remove the battery. Out go the lights.

Let it sit for a few minutes, and then put the battery back in.

Power up and then do what ever you need to do to get to the BIOS Setup (Typically you press the F2 function key while the Boot Logo is displayed...)

Check your BIOS settings to make sure that nothing got trashed. Change as appropriate.

Plug in the AC adapter in and reboot...

#3 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86118
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 29 July 2013 - 10:29 AM

Thanks Cliff; I'll give that a try.

#4 richard7

richard7

    Not Quite

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 5866
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Sacramento

Posted 30 July 2013 - 06:40 PM

Did it work Carol?

#5 StarWars

StarWars

    Mr. Postmaster Man

  • *****
  • Posts: 26484
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2003
  • Loc: At the Gym >Spudtastic<

Posted 01 August 2013 - 10:45 PM




Carol,


Your Netbook book is a Acer not ASUS ... :o

#6 StarWars

StarWars

    Mr. Postmaster Man

  • *****
  • Posts: 26484
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2003
  • Loc: At the Gym >Spudtastic<

Posted 03 August 2013 - 06:22 PM



Carol,


You most likely have some malware on your Acer... :mad:


1) Disconnect from the Internet. (shut off DSL modem)

2) start up Acer

3) Run Malware scanner

http://www.filehippo...perantispyware/


4) Download Smarty Uninstaller and install on Acer. You can use SU to remove malware programs with the Force Uninstall option. Connect to Internet and allow SU to collect data on the update problem. (give it 30 minutes)


http://www.smartuninstall.com/

5) Disconnect from the Internet and run Smarty Uninstaller, SU will show you which downloads will be the most current on your computer.

6) SU should of given you enough information to remove the problem updates/malware.

#7 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86118
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 15 August 2013 - 11:17 AM

Sorry so late in replying. I did not have any Malware, as I do run a check frequently with my own Malware program.

It appears it was just a fluke with the auto downloads of MS updates. Now that I'm updating manually; no problems.

#8 CarolG

CarolG

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Oklahoma

Posted 17 August 2013 - 07:59 AM

Hi, Carol. After your first post, I started up my Acer Aspire after the latest auto MS downloads. To my horror, most of my programs were gone and my screen settings were replaced by a MS logo. I found no malware, but couldn't recover my lost programs and settings. Fortunately, I had a backup, so I had to do a system recovery. What I had not done on the netbook that I had done on my other computers was set the updates to "manual". No more "automatic' updates for me either! Glad you got your problem resolved!!

#9 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86118
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 17 August 2013 - 09:59 AM

Carol, thanks for posting your experience with the "auto" updates as well! There obviously is a problem using the "auto"; as since I'm using manual updates, netbook is running smoothly!

BTW, that's how I finally got mine up & running again, is to do a system recovery. For sure won't ever use the "auto" update on the netbook ever again!

#10 StarWars

StarWars

    Mr. Postmaster Man

  • *****
  • Posts: 26484
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2003
  • Loc: At the Gym >Spudtastic<

Posted 22 August 2013 - 12:54 AM

Hi, Carol. After your first post, I started up my Acer Aspire after the latest auto MS downloads. To my horror, most of my programs were gone and my screen settings were replaced by a MS logo. I found no malware, but couldn't recover my lost programs and settings. Fortunately, I had a backup, so I had to do a system recovery. What I had not done on the netbook that I had done on my other computers was set the updates to "manual". No more "automatic' updates for me either! Glad you got your problem resolved!!





Do you have Windows 7 Starter or Home Premium... :question:

#11 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86118
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 22 August 2013 - 11:24 AM

I don't know about Carol G.; however I'm using 7 Home Premium.

#12 CarolG

CarolG

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1522
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Oklahoma

Posted 26 August 2013 - 10:24 PM

I'm using Windows 7 Pro.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics