• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 JMac85X

JMac85X

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: California

Posted 02 August 2013 - 12:02 AM

I'm still fairly new with the hyperstar and I think its great. It's like going from dial up to high speed internet, but I have noticed in many images blotchy or stars but in others the stars are crisp and pin point. My question is to those that have achieved those beautiful stars, how is it done? Do you have to collimate your hyperstar itself or is it trial and error with the focuser? I'm also in a fairly light polluted area. I use a light pollution filter and it helps out quite well. I'm also wondering how long should I go on the exposures and at what iso? Do flats, darks, etc? And how many? If I take 30 30 second exposures of lights darks and flats wouldn't I need an autoguider with that amount of time? Much appreciated.

#2 Peter D.

Peter D.

Mariner 2

• Loc: Central New York

Posted 02 August 2013 - 09:07 AM

I'm just starting with my Hyperstar too, so I'm a beginner like you. The previous owner of my Hyperstar said that 30 second exposures are optimal, so I doubt if you're over-exposing. Since you have taken some pictures with crisp stars, it's probably not the collimation. So that leaves focus and tracking.

I'll bet it's focus. Focus is real touchy on my Hyperstar; it's apparently a consequence of the low f/ratio. I use the focus utility in Nebulosity to assist focus; it helps a lot, but I still have to wait for the vibrations to settle down everytime I touch it. So yes, for me it's trial and error. Unless you have a carbon-fiber tube you will find that focus changes slightly with temperature change, so the focus probably has to be checked from time to time throughout your imaging session. To get pin-point stars the focus has to be perfect; it's one of the trials of imaging and the reason why the experienced guys generally have motorized focusers.