Should I convert?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Stargazer78

Stargazer78

Viking 1

• Loc: Susanville California

Posted 06 August 2013 - 08:12 PM

SO I am a beginner in astrophotography. I own a orion star shoot g3 color CCD camera. A good friend of mine is using a nikon d90 and suggested that I follow in his footsteps. The images I get with the g3 are not bad but are no where near the qulity of his. Also to get similar quality I am looking at spending around 2 grand for another ccd camera. So I am leaning towards the d90. Any info on how this camera performs and what I would need to take photos would be helpful.

#2 fetoma

fetoma

Vanguard

• Loc: Southern NJ

Posted 06 August 2013 - 08:22 PM

$2K will get you a decent CCD camera, but do you want it to be color or monochrome? Two very different animals when it comes to acquiring your images.

#3 sternenhimmel

sternenhimmel

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 06 August 2013 - 08:23 PM

I can't say anything specific about the D90, but I can say that the advantage of using a DSLR, even if it's astromodified, is that it can be used for daytime photography as well. Thus, you have a dual purpose piece of equipment and half the price. However, that would require you to buy lenses ;).

If you'll be dual purposing the camera, I'd carefully consider whether you go Nikon or Canon based on getting your hands on both brands and trying them out. Once you start buying lenses, you're pretty committed to one company.

#4 TimN

TimN

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 06 August 2013 - 10:07 PM