The weak link in the optical train

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Cymrych79

Cymrych79

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 13 August 2013 - 07:43 PM

I'm just getting into astrophotography (at least, via telescope anyway), and the other night managed to find a few hours before the muggy dew clouds descended to hook my Canon to my 8" LX200GPS for the first time at prime focus.

Had a fair amount of success eventually in the Double Cluster, but noticed that when using the Meade microfocuser the collimation was thrown way off. If I de-focused a star to clearly see the shadow of the secondary, that shadow was all the way down overlapping the bottom of the diffused star light, making a croissant shape rather than a ring. Investigated the optical train, and observed quite a bit of slop where the microfocuser attaches to the grooved ring adapter that screws onto the back of the OTA (well, the end of the f/6.3 focal reducer in this case). In short, I just couldn't get the microfocuser thrumb screws (or the stock set screws) to tighten down enough to truly hold the assembly rigid, at least not with my camera hooked on the end.

So, for the limited time I had left that evening, I just removed the microfocuser and muddled along as best I could with just the course focus knob on the back of the scope. Obviously, for any serious imaging this lack of more precise focus control is a serious detriment. Not to mention time consuming and a total PITA, running back and forth from the computer to the scope trying to zero in, only to look at the knob in a slightly cross manner and have it seemingly defy logic and jump even more out of ideal focus rather than closer to it. A complete case of 1 step forward, 2 back, more often than not!

Did some research and looked at some aftermarket focusers, etc. The Moonlite set-ups look fantastic! Just a little pricey at the moment, at least with the micro-stepper motor.