Need equatorial mount for 8-inch f/4 newt

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 starhacker

starhacker

Sputnik

• Loc: NH, USA

Posted 14 August 2013 - 02:05 PM

While I'm building my 12.5 inch scope I've decided it's time to finally get a decent mount for my older 8-inch. Right now I have a clever but embarrassingly cheap looking collection of large gas pipes and elbows screwed together, with a couple bearings installed. It even has clock-drive. I don't need to do AP with this scope but I would like the right trade-off between sturdiness and portability. Fully decked-out with Nagler and finder scope the OTA weighs in at 23 pounds and is 38 inches long. I'm looking at the Orion Atlas EQ mount, but I'm wondering if that's a little overkill. There seem quite a few options out there. Whatever money I spend of this is less money I have for the 12.5-inch. Any advice is welcome.

#2 Stew57

Stew57

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 14 August 2013 - 02:19 PM

The Atlas is a good choice especially if you think you may try AP or live video in the future. I would think the VX would be enough for just visual however.

#3 starhacker

starhacker

Sputnik

Posted 15 August 2013 - 09:22 AM

Thanks for the advice. I just placed an order for the Atlas at telescope.com.

#4 starhacker

starhacker

Sputnik

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:54 AM

The brand new Atlas mount arrived yesterday and does not work. The hand-controller says it can't talk to the head. I see from the forums I'm not the first person to encounter this problem. Tech support is sending me a new hand unit and cable. We'll hope that's where the problem is as I don't want to have to ship back the whole head assembly (although maybe I can get them to just send a replacement "motherboard" in that case as it doesn't look that hard to swap out).

#5 Jesus Munoz

Jesus Munoz

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Querétaro, México

Posted 21 August 2013 - 10:02 PM