42 replies to this topic

#1 jhk3

jhk3

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 16 August 2013 - 10:19 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the hobby and the forum, and putting together a telescope assembly for viewing the sky. As I am purchasing all the different components with researching as much as I can, and I realize I might need a filter. I plan to (starting off) lean more towards observing galaxies and nebulae. My question is which filter starting off will be good for viewing these objects? From what I am finding, I may need to get an O-III filter or H-Alpha. Or maybe both. I do live in the suburbs. Right now I have or have ordered the following:

Orion 8" f/3.9 Newtonian Astrograph Reflector
Tele Vue Paracorr Type 2
Tele Vue 13mm Ethos eyepiece
Atlas EQ-G mount and tripod

The mount and eyepiece I just recently ordered, and should have those next week.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

John

#2 TexasRed

TexasRed

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: East Texas

Posted 16 August 2013 - 11:16 PM

I think you'll find an Orion UltraBlock a lot more useful.

#3 GalaxyCollide

GalaxyCollide

Vostok 1

• Loc: NY, Long island

Posted 16 August 2013 - 11:20 PM

Televue O-III filter

I find that filter most useful. I use it a lot during star parties, until I sold it...

#4 David Knisely

David Knisely

Hubble

• Loc: southeastern Nebraska

Posted 17 August 2013 - 12:48 AM

Televue O-III filter

I find that filter most useful. I use it a lot during star parties, until I sold it...