GPS Unit for Orion Skyview Pro Goto Mount

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 gunfighter48

gunfighter48

Ranger 4

• Loc: Mill Creek, Washington

Posted 17 August 2013 - 09:25 PM

Does anyone know of a GPS unit that works with the Orion Skyview Pro Goto mount? When I bought the mount I did a couple of online chats with their support techs and they said to use the Celestron SkySync GPS but I could never get it to work. I called their tech support number and this time the tech said it doesn't work with the SkySync GPS unit. The mount works great but I did want the GPS option and it's one of the reasons that I bought it over the Celestron AVX mount. Plus I have been buying Orion products since 2000 and have always been satisfied with their equipment and still am.

I bought the GPS unit from Hands On Optics, so I called them and they took the GPS unit back and refunded the entire price of the unit. I have nothing but great praise for them for taking back the unit. It wasn't their fault that I got bad info. I fully expected to have to sell it at a loss to recoup some of the $200 it cost me. I've bought a bit of stuff from them this year and they will be getting more of my business.

I am not happy with Orion's tech support. This wasn't a hard issue it either works or doesn't work with the mount, end of story. They need to get it together. I've done phone support in the past and I always knew what I was talking about and the issues with the product that I was supporting.

Now I'm wondering if there is any other GPS units that will work with the Skyview Pro Goto. It seems to be very close to several of the other mounts on the current market. Anyone know of any?

#2 gunfighter48

gunfighter48

Ranger 4

Posted 18 August 2013 - 10:04 PM